la la la

Sep. 13th, 2005 10:11 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (us at fenway)
[personal profile] mamajoan
First chorus rehearsal last night. Since I hadn't been able to get a babysitter, mom and I tag-teamed it. I went to the first half and she brought Isaac over halfway through and then I took him home and mom stayed for the second half. It went pretty well. We have commissioned a new piece from a composer whose works we performed before, and he's been ill so the new piece hasn't arrived yet. So we rehearsed the other thing we're going to perform, which is a Mozart missa brevis.

As usual we will perform in the fall a small "taste" of the program that we're putting on in the spring. It seems doubtful that I'll be able to sing in the spring concert, on account of it's only a few weeks after my due date, but you never know.

Anyway, I didn't get to do much chatting/socializing (read: telling people I'm pregnant) but did a little. I hope my mom didn't spill the beans to too many other people after I left. I should still get the pleasure next week.

Isaac was pretty fussy on account of sleep issues (more on that in a moment) and didn't want to leave. He wanted to stay and hear the rehearsal, but of course he was LOUD and couldn't shush, so I insisted that we leave, much to his disapproval. Oh well.

Maybe I shouldn't have let Isaac sleep in till 8:30am yesterday, because he didn't nap AT ALL at daycare. Yikes! No, but I'm kidding about the sleeping in. I think it's more likely that his nap problems were because it was his first day in the two-year-old room. At least, that's my hope! I hope he'll adjust to the new naptime location and start napping again. I am so not ready to give up naps.

Anyway, so when I picked him up at daycare he looked like he was going to fall asleep on his feet. He was washing his hands at the kid-sized sink and leaning on it and seriously zoning out. I was worried that he'd be cranky the whole time grandma was watching him, but noooo, he saved all his cranky for me! We went home and just played a little bit and then I put him to bed. He complained about getting ready for bed, but once he started nursing, he was out like a light. I put on a fan in his room for some white noise, and with the exception of a brief waking around 11pm, he slept through -- till 7:30am! OMG. I was so pleased. Of course, *I* still woke at 6:00 because he apparently has me trained to that now (*headdesk*) but at least I got to lie around relaxing in bed for another hour, and then I dozed off for another half-hour, then got up and started getting ready and he woke up soon afterwards.

So I won't kid myself that this means it's all turning around, but it was nice to have what felt more like a "normal" morning -- and it's really striking the contrast in his mood/behavior when he sleeps later. He's just cheerier and calmer and all around a happier child. So cross your fingers for continued improvement.

In other news, I was delighted to hear from [livejournal.com profile] sunspiral that he did find Isaac's Red Sox hat which went missing after his party. I was wracking my brain trying to figure out where else it might be if he didn't find it. I mean, it's not THAT big a deal, it's just a hat -- but otoh it's a fricking $18 hat (sports merchandise is expensive, baby stuff is expensive ... baby sports merchandise is fricking ridiculous) and I was really hoping it would last us through next summer as well. ;) So, I'm pleased that it has been located. yay.
(hence the icon on this post, which is me and Isaac at Fenway.)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios