mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
[personal profile] mamajoan
"While the Red Sox are disappointed to lose David Wells for six games, the Club recognizes that the disciplinary process has run its course, and we accept the results. However, the comments made by David today regarding the Commissioner of Baseball do not in any way reflect the views of the Club. The Club believes the Commissioner has demonstrated visionary leadership and integrity, and we recognize that his contributions to the game have been enormous. Thus, we apologize to the Commissioner."

-- Official statement from the Red Sox, as quoted here
Are you FUCKING KIDDING ME??? "Visionary leadership and integrity"??? JESUS. How much farther up Selig's shriveled disgusting ass can the Sox ownership stick themselves? Oh my GOD. I think I'm going to fucking throw up. "Visionary leadership." JESUS.

Listen, I'm no huge David Wells fan either, but by now everyone knows that the man likes to shoot off his mouth. Who fucking cares? Why is it the team's problem to "apologize" for what he says? The Red Sox are not David Wells's mother for fuck's sake. And he is not a rebellious teenager. He's a grown man who can take responsibility for his own actions and words. But even so -- even if the team does feel the need to apologize -- the sucking up to the commissioner is SO freaking unnecessary. Give me a FUCKING break.

"Visionary leadership and integrity." My ASS. Where the hell have the Sox bigwigs BEEN the last couple of years? 'Cause if they've found another planet, an alternate reality where Bud Selig is a visionary, I so fucking want to move there.

Date: 2005-08-30 04:43 pm (UTC)
skreeky: (Default)
From: [personal profile] skreeky
Actually, based on what little (i.e. repeatable parts) I heard of what Gorgo said, sucking up was probably extremely necessary. Yes, he shoots off his mouth. That makes him a liability because it DOES drag down the whole team, and part of what the team considered when hiring him was whether his talent was worth the inevitable pain. Welcome to the pain. What you're doing is the equivelent of stuffing your head in the sand and denying that office politics exist.

If you publicly threatened and insulted your company president, do you really think your boss could respond to "what the fuck are your people doing?" with "gosh, he said that, not me" (but NOT say "he doesn't speak for my department" or "the rest of us think you're great") and then expect to ever get any resources he needed again.

Speaking of alternate realities, I want to live in yours, where only individuals are held responsible for their fuckups, everything is fair, public opinion means nothing, no one gossips, and disclaimers are never needed. Tell me, are there lawyers on your planet?

Date: 2005-08-30 05:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maggiesox.livejournal.com
'PLease don't fuck us with any more ridiculous suspensions.'

Date: 2005-08-30 07:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Well, okay, but "visionary"?? "Integrity"????

Date: 2005-08-30 07:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] piney61.livejournal.com
It's damage control...last thing we need is Boomer out another 6 games. Lucchino is also a legendary Selig kiss ass too.

Date: 2005-08-30 09:49 pm (UTC)
ext_50193: (Calvin)
From: [identity profile] hawkeye7.livejournal.com
"I am forced to apologise and I want to make it perfectly clear to everyone except possibly the commisioner - who can't see all that clearly with his head up his arse the way that it is - that this is nothing more than a complete suck up done under duress"

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios