mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I am back from the cottage. We had an okay weekend although the weather on Sunday was pretty crappy and the sleep situation with Isaac even more so. On Saturday night my mom got a first-hand view of what I've been dealing with for a few weeks now. Between the two of us trying everything we could think of, we still couldn't get him to sleep till 11pm. And then he woke up at 6am on the dot! Arrrgh. Mom managed to get him back to sleep for another 1.5 hours or so, but still.

And then he didn't nap at all that day. Well, about fifteen minutes at one point, but that's it. Mom and I were going nuts, because we were both exhausted and really looking forward to OUR naps. We ended up tag-teaming and taking turns lying down, sigh.

So then we got home last night and he went to bed fairly easily at 9pm. Well, sure, I mean by then he must have been super-tired! After two nights in a row of not going to sleep till 11pm, and then two days in a row of little or no nappage (only about an hour on Saturday).

And then I couldn't get to sleep. Arrrgggh!! So I was still awake at midnight when he woke again. *sigh* I got him back down in about 15 minutes, but then I was nervous to go past his door to get into my room, so I lay down on the couch and slept there for about an hour, then went back to my bed. He woke again at 5:45am (ARGH!) but I took him into my bed and told him it wasn't time to be awake yet, and we went back to sleep until 7:30.

This shit is ridiculous. Something has to give. The child is exhausted!!! WHY WON'T HE SLEEP?????

ahem, but anyway, uh ... happy Monday, or some shit like that.

Date: 2005-08-29 02:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] anotherjen.livejournal.com
Does he get enough exercise? On days when Ilana's just home all day with no running around, it's harder to get her to go to sleep.

Date: 2005-08-29 07:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] booklady.livejournal.com
I think they don't like the idea that they're missing anything. Himself seems to feel that we are just waiting for him to go to sleep so we can party like mad things. He's been getting to sleep at an average time of 11:30 to midnight, and he has to get up no later than 6:30AM to get ready for school. He fights that, but then on weekends he gets up then, and runs amok in the house unless I get up to stop him.

It's just a mother's fate to have to learn to function on very little sleep. Cruel, but true.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios