mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
OK, so we actually had a pretty good rest of the day, with the exception of one really awful experience (to which luckily Isaac was oblivious).

I thought we'd go to a different playground that we've never gone to. It's on the way to the grocery store, and every time I shop, I think "we should stop there sometime." So I thought we'd go play for a bit and then shop and then home. As it turned out, there was also a fire station en route from where we parked; so that was cool. Isaac loved looking at the fire trucks, although when the fireman invited him to sit in the driver's seat of one, he was like, "noooo!" LOL, that was a little scary I guess.

Anyway -- the playground we went to is attached to a big field where baseball and soccer games often take place. It's in a very heavily Brazilian/Portuguese neighborhood, so there's a lot of soccer. Today, it was a very hot day so there were a LOT of people, most of them watching the soccer game, but also a LOT of kids on the playground.

We spent a little while playing, but there were so many kids Isaac got nervous. He doesn't like climbing or playing when there are a lot of other kids -- especially, as in this case, a lot of bigger kids who move faster than him. I mean, in the time it takes him to get to the mouth of a slide, decide he wants to slide, and sit down, three kids can go barreling past him and down the slide. Plus sometimes the bigger kids climb UP the slide and surprise him. So he wasn't enjoying it, so I thought we'd leave. But then Isaac tried to go back and go under the climbing structure ("tunnel") and I figured rather than say no and upset him, I'd let him discover for himself that the whole place was teeming with scary big kids.

And then the really icky thing happened. We were starting toward the climbing structure and Isaac decided to go under it, and I looked under, and saw a boy maybe 4 or 5 years old, with his pants down, having diarrhea on the ground. And then he put his hand on his butt, looked at it, then wiped his butt with his hand some more, then went a little ways away and sat on the ground (possibly on a piece of clothing?) and moved his butt back and forth to wipe it off. Then pulled his pants up and went back to playing!!!

OMG!!! So I was immediately like, "we are LEAVING NOW." And Isaac, who of course didn't see or understand a thing, was like, wtf? But fortunately my boy is so good-natured, he was okay with it. So we meandered back to our car and went and did our shopping.

I mean, I did think for a moment about trying to find that other kid's parent(s), but there were just SO many kids and SO many parents, and it would have been a big effort trying to figure out which parent went with that one kid, and then there was the language barrier. And I was hot and tired and hungry and grossed out, so I just didn't have the energy. Sigh.

I don't think we'll be going back to that playground.

But anyway, then we shopped and came home and played and had a quick bath, and Isaac went right to sleep. He was quite tired on account of the truncated nap. And now I should grab a quick shower and maybe some of that ice cream I bought, and get myself to sleep as well.

Date: 2005-07-11 03:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Ew! I feel sorry for the kid, but still, ew!

Date: 2005-07-11 04:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Yeah, I feel sorry for him too. I'm mostly annoyed with the parents, i.e., the total lack of supervision. And also, EW.

Date: 2005-07-11 06:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] peterchayward.livejournal.com
lol, I love how in the same sentence you mention Isaac's good-naturedness and have him saying "wtf."

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios