watch out

Jun. 27th, 2005 10:47 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I am so fucking pissy right now. It's not any one particular thing, it's just everything in general, and hormones in particular.

I am pissy about money. I know there are those on my flist in direr financial straits than me right now, but too bad, I'm pissy about money anyway. Money is tight and gets tighter all the time. I thought it was looking reasonably kind of okay, until I opened the latest home insurance bill and was shocked to see that it's like $900. Sure, Brian has to pay half of that, but that's still $450 that I ain't got. Plus I still have not bought my plane tickets for the moms' gathering in Kansas City in August, and that's going to be another $400 that I ain't got. (And don't get me started on the rant about charging full fare for a 2-year-old.) I am pissy about the fact, which I just read another article about recently, that the cost of living (including rent/mortgage, gasoline, milk, and other such necessities) has been growing at a MUCH faster rate than the average worker salary in the US.

I am pissy about Isaac's behavior tonight and my reaction thereto. Sorry, person who used to enjoy posting here anonymously to tell me what a horrible person I am, but you are now banned and shall have to get your schadenfreude elsewhere. Isaac was a terror tonight and I was a bad bad mama. I yelled and scolded and said many bad words. I made a 2-year-old cry because I am such a terrible person. Or, wait! Let's think reasonably for a moment, please, anonymous asshole who for some reason enjoys reading the LJs of people he thinks are despicable! Let's consider for a moment that perhaps five days in a row of hot sweaty weather, coupled with financial worries and PMSy hormones and a 2-year-old being, well, 2, might make any woman do things she otherwise wouldn't. Yes, any woman, anonymous troll, even your sainted mother (who I hear is so loose she has to glue her tampons in so they won't fall out), might react poorly to that combination of factors, and might indeed let loose a torrent of f-words on your benighted little head, you, the adorable, innocent, yet unmarred by the cruel realities of life, apple of the said saint's eye, as you stood there befuddledly thinking, "why is mama yelling at me?" Because you are there, my beloved, my sweetheart; because you are there, and because mama is pissy, and because you just spilled your yogurt on the floor. On purpose.

I am pissy about political conditions in this country, which continue to shock and terrify. In particular I am pissy about the U.S. Supreme Court ruling from today which states that police departments are not required to protect you from someone you have a restraining order against. WHAT THE FUCK IS A RESTRAINING ORDER FOR THEN, YOU ASSHOLES?

*deep breaths*

OK. I am pissy. I shouldn't be posting. I go away now.

P.S. Do not for ONE minute think that the semi-humorous nature of this post, or of the usericon associated therewith, means that my anger isn't for real, means that you can laugh at my anger. I may be typing about it in humorous fashion, but I Am Not Amused.

Date: 2005-06-28 02:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] girliejones.livejournal.com
Not that this is going to make you feel at all better but everytime there is a domestic murder here in Australia now, I make a bet with people in the room watching the news that the woman had an AVO - a restraining order - against the ex. I haven't seen one yet that didn't. Here they aren't worth the paper they are written on.

Date: 2005-06-28 02:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] girliejones.livejournal.com
Also, even perfect mama's lose it once in a while.

Date: 2005-06-28 03:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mofic.livejournal.com
Sorry you're having a tough time. I hope things are better for you soon.

Date: 2005-06-28 04:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sandykidd.livejournal.com
I think you're an awesome mom and he's a lucky kid. Whenever I spilled food I was fortunate if all that happened was someone swearing at me, so I could almost cheer you on for your self control. You and the rest of your remarkable family are part of why I'm so glad I married your brother.

And to whatever smelly little smear thinks it's wise to taunt someone I love: I hope you spontaneously combust on live TV.

Date: 2005-06-28 05:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bodacia.livejournal.com
There's a lot to be pissy about. I'm pissy about all the racist, misogynistic, homophobic whacked out religious fundamentalists that are running my country and wreaking havoc throughout the world. I'm pissy that I'm in a long-distance relationship, that I never get to see my significant other, that I still have to wait another #$&^$! year until we can get married, buy a house, etc. I'm pissy that I'm still running on a sleep deficit after two weeks. I'm pissy that I bonked my ankle into the chest of drawers tonight. And I'm really pissy that my "loose" pants were tight on me today!

If I had a 2-year-old, I'd probably be screaming my head off at him right now.

You're a great mom...don't let this one day get you down. :)

Date: 2005-06-28 01:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aelf.livejournal.com
I think the US Supreme Court has lost its mind.

kids

Date: 2005-06-28 01:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zackquill.livejournal.com
I remember those days when the pressure got to be too much and I screamed at my kids - I think every mother has done it at some point. As long as it is a rare event(and I know from your LJ Isaac gets plenty of love and attention) you are not a bad mother, just human. I'm always amazed at how mothers can be so hard on other mothers, let alone how people who aren't even parents can judge in such unhelpful ways.
The Supreme Court ruling - arghh. I was an attorney in domestic relations for Legal Aid 25 years ago and I had hoped things had changed.

disagree

Date: 2005-06-28 01:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] munoz.livejournal.com
I disagree with you on the restraining order thing. Reading through the court's opinion, it's a fairly narrow decision based on the language in the Colorado law. It could easily be rewritten to take into account the concerns that the Supreme Court has. Besides, a restraining order is not a contract with the police department to have them keep an eye out for the person being restrained; and it never has been. People assume that's what it means, but it's not.

Re: disagree

Date: 2005-06-28 01:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Dude, you're harshing my mellow harsh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios