mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I haven't even had a moment to post! Ugh.

Friday night, we went to the Red Sox game, and it was fun, although not really suspenseful given that the Sox scored 7 runs in the second inning. They went on to win 10-0. It was chilly, but certainly not the coldest game I've ever been to; I had my winter coat and was fine.

Isaac, alas, didn't go to sleep for his babysitter (as I had feared) and was still awake when we got back from the game around 11:00, so all told it was midnight by the time he, and thus I, got to bed. And he coughed a lot during the night and thus I had trouble sleeping again. *sigh* I spent Saturday morning in a fog of "just gotta survive till naptime." Then naptime came and went, with no nap. ARGH! I seriously thought I was going to die if I didn't get a break and some rest. Unfortunately my mom was out of town (she went down to New Haven for a family thing that I decided to skip) and everyone else either didn't answer their phone/email, or was busy or away. I finally ended up calling the same friend who had watched Isaac during the game, and she mercifully agreed to come over and play with him while I took a shortish nap. Thank heaven for her! Then when I got up, we ordered pizza and hung out.

Maria thus babysat Isaac two days in a row, and somehow in that time she managed to teach him the phrase, "shake your booty." And accompanying body movements. With friends like these... ;) I gotta admit it's pretty hysterical hearing him say "shake-a-la booty!" LOL!

Then we came home and Isaac went right to sleep, but woke himself up coughing an hour later. *sigh* I nursed him again and he went back to sleep and didn't cough the rest of the night.

Today was better. We got up, took a shower (well, I showered while Isaac systematically dumped a series of toys into the tub with me), went over to [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen's house and briefly hung out with her, finally meeting [livejournal.com profile] gosling and [livejournal.com profile] ceo's baby in the process. He's adorably chubby. Then we stopped over at another friend's house on the off-chance she might be home, and she was, so we hung out with her for a while, enjoying her backyard. She decided to water the lawn, and Isaac started following her around trying to get wet. So I took off his shoes and socks and pants, and he splashed around a bit and had a great time. It's going to be a fun summer. :)

(did I mention the weather? Has been beautiful the last few days!! Sunny, bright blue sky, clear air, and nice warm temps in the low 60s. Yay for spring!)

Then we came home and had lunch and (THANK GOODNESS!) a nap. (During which Isaac didn't cough at all, yay.) The glorious thing about spring/summer is, we can even take a late-ish nap and it's still light out when we get up! So after our nap we took a walk up and down our street, with Isaac pushing his walker toy, which he totally loves. Then we went on a quick grocery excursion, came home, had dinner, and he went to bed. Whew!!!

I'm not working tomorrow -- took the day off, as daycare is closed (it's a state holiday -- Patriots Day aka Boston Marathon Day). My mom reports that her next-door neighbors are having some work done that will involve a crane, and Isaac loves cranes, so we're going to try to arrange to get him over there in time to check it out. It's supposed to be another gorgeous day with temps possibly in the 70s, so hopefully Isaac and his gramma will have some fun in the sun while I totally waste the weather by sleeping through it. ;) That's my plan, anyway!

So in a sense my weekend isn't over yet, but that's my weekend summary anyway. :) And now, not surprisingly, to bed.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios