mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
[personal profile] mamajoan
IMO the biggest plot hole in "Fever Pitch" is the part where Jimmy Fallon's character skips the baseball game to go to the party with Drew. Later, he finds out that the Sox came back to win in the bottom of the 9th in dramatic fashion. He gets all upset because he missed it.

The thing is, in reality, a dedicated Red Sox fan like him would probably conclude that the Sox were able to win BECAUSE he wasn't at the game. And thus he would decide that it meant he shouldn't go to any more games. (Or maybe just any more Yankee games.) Yes, Sox fans are deeply superstitious, and yes, they actually believe that they have the power to affect the team's performance like that. Heck, I have friends who refused to come to my place to watch any of the World Series games because they really felt that they HAD to sit in the same chair, eat the same snacks, wear the same clothing, and be with the same people that they had for the first few games we won.

So, yeah. Jimmy should have declared himself a jinx and stayed away from the park "for the good of the team." But that wouldn't have worked with the plot, so.... ;)

Date: 2005-04-14 04:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maggiesox.livejournal.com
I thought the exact. same. thing.

Date: 2005-04-14 04:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Well of course you did. Aren't you the woman who was JUST saying that the Sox lost last night because you were wearing the wrong pants? :)

Date: 2005-04-14 05:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maggiesox.livejournal.com
Yeah, but I'm insane.

Date: 2005-04-14 05:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Right, my point exactly. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios