mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I'm hangin' in there. Went to team trivia Wednesday night, had much more to drink than I usually do, had fun. Went to lunch with former coworkers Thursday, then hung out with mom. Today, went to see "Big Trouble," about which I've been insanely excited for, like, two years now, so that was satisfying. Go see it! It rules! :)

Had a bizarre morning all around because I got to bed around 3am, and had to get up again at 8:30 for a chiropractor appointment that I had made before I knew I would be a gentlewoman of leisure. So I was zonked from not enough sleep, and got home and didn't have time for a nap, so that when I left for the movie, not only did I have no clue what day of the week it was, I also thought it was like 3 in the afternoon when in fact it was 11am. By the time the Red Sox game got underway at 7pm I was almost asleep, but I'm forcing myself to stay awake (and being rewarded by a really good game). It's only a matter of time before I start hallucinating, I swear.

Now that I'm a gentlewoman of leisure (yeah yeah, I'm abusing the term, see below), I'm ready to start IRCing again, foolish though that may turn out to be. But I don't know where the cool people hang out on IRC any more, it's been so long! Can anyone point me in the right direction? A server, a 'net, a channel, anything.

I've been referring to myself as a gentlewoman of leisure because of this bit of dialogue from Buffy episode "The Freshman":
   Willow: "[Giles] says that he's enjoying being a gentleman of leisure."
   Buffy: "Gentleman of leisure? Isn't that just British for unemployed?"
   Willow: "Uh huh, he's a slacker now."

For every occasion there's a Buffy quote, n'est-ce pas? :)

As a GOL, you'd think, I also have lots of time to finish all those fanfic WIPs that I have on my hard drive. Yes? Well, maybe. I have high hopes. Don't hold your breath though; it's unhealthy.

Date: 2002-04-06 08:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Hey, does the movie live up to the book?

Date: 2002-04-06 10:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
It's the most faithful-to-the-book movie I can remember seeing, ever!

There are a couple of little things changed (or omitted) but in large part it's the same. I was way psyched. :)

Date: 2002-04-09 10:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
squidge.org

port 6667

#smallville

Date: 2002-04-10 07:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
aww! thanks for humoring me! sorry for the whine. I'll never learn not to post in the wee hours.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios