mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
It looks to be another night during which Isaac will be coughing a lot, despite his humidifier on "high." I even gave him some homeopathic cough syrup, even though I don't really think that stuff works (and nor does Consumer Reports). :( I feel bad for him, because although he sleeps through (or goes back to sleep after) most of the coughing fits, they've got to be messing with his ability to get good deep sleep. And he has definitely seemed tired these last few days.

He also coughed through his naps today and yesterday. His daycare usually writes on his daily sheet if he coughed a lot during nap, and they didn't on Friday, but I'm going to ask them about it tomorrow anyway. And ask them to try to make sure he drinks a lot of fluids. I have such trouble getting him to drink, just because he's busy playing and can't be bothered.

We had a pretty good day today otherwise. In the morning my friend A came over and hung out, and then we went for a walk down the bike path to look for the secret donut factory. And found it! yay.

Then just as we were getting back on the bike path, hundreds or thousands of people came running by! No, really. It turned out there was some kind of Irish-related 5km race going on, and we were walking on the final stretch of it. We stood there watching the people run by for a few minutes (Isaac kept trying to count them, but he can only count to eight *g*), then we took advantage of a break in the flow to cross over to the other side, and went to the playground that's right there, and played for a bit until the runners had finished going by. Then we followed them the rest of the way into Davis Square, which was a total mob scene with all the runners resting and lining up to get into the pubs. ;)

We stopped and got some breakfast/lunch, ate it, ran Isaac around a bit, then walked back to the car and drove home. Then A left and Isaac went down for his nap and I went down for mine.

Isaac only napped about two hours and when he got up he was *very* groggy. He actually fell back asleep on my lap. All told it took about an hour and a half until he was fully awake -- and he spent most of that time just wanting to be on my lap. I knew he had to be hungry, so I popped him into the sling (which I hadn't used in ages!) and made some mac 'n' cheese. He devoured it and then was all cheery --finally. But by then we had missed [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen's Ostara party thingie, which made me sad. ah well.

Then we went over to my mom's place to feed her kitties, which I felt very guilty about having left for so long -- it was 6:30pm and they hadn't been fed since mom's upstairs neighbor left yesterday at like 9am. Not that the kitties are going to starve, or anything, but I also feel guilty about not having gone over to entertain them at all in the week that my mom has been gone. The aforementioned neighbor tries, but she usually doesn't have time to do much more than plop their food down. Plus she has her own two kitties to entertain.

Isaac was very confused that gramma wasn't there. He kept asking for her and I kept trying to explain that she went away on an airplane but will be back soon. I definitely don't think he gets it.

Well, better get myself to bed now too, and get at least a little rest, in case he does cough himself awake and need me.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios