mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Now, it's been many a year since I wrote any fanfic, and sometimes I wonder why I even leave it all there on my website, but I do because occasionally people still discover my stuff and send me nice notes. And then there are the ... other people.

So the other day I got an email about my Xena fic Learning the Ropes, in which the writer claimed that a) since on the show Xena fucked any guy who came her way, she must not be a lesbian, and b) anyone who chooses to interpret Xena and Gabrielle as having a romantic/sexual relationship must think of lesbianism as mere "mutual masturbation" that straight women engage in while between male partners, and c) *I* specifically must not have a very high opinion of lesbianism, because I portray Xena and Gabrielle as involved with each other (??) and because in the above-referenced story they include a man in their sexual activities, which obviously proves that I think it's not sex unless it involves progeny.

Um. Okay, first of all, the fuck?

So I wrote back and said, first of all, that I don't know what she hopes to accomplish by flaming me over (her interpretation of) stuff that I wrote SEVEN YEARS AGO (the dates of the stories are clearly listed on my site), about a show that went off the air what, four or five years ago. And second of all, that I don't know where she gets off making assumptions about my opinion of lesbianism based solely on reading my fic, and not knowing me at all. And third of all, that I see Xena as a complex character who enjoys sex with men as a form of control but can only form real deep relationships with women; also known in dumbed-down vernacular as "bisexual."

Seriously, though, the fuck?

I mean, those of you who have ever written and/or read fanfic will probably understand when I say: I did not write "Learning the Ropes" as a polemic or treatise on the nature of lesbianism. I wrote it because it was itching me and I had to scratch*. I was intrigued by the idea of emphasizing all of Xena's antisocial, imperialistic, arrogant, sexually aggressive qualities, and putting that in the context of the modern-day academic world. I was interested in reshaping her relationship with Gabrielle as a complex BDSM dynamic, the kind where from the outside it looks like one partner wields all the power, but when you dig deeper you find that there's really a synergy, not to mention a true and deep love between the participants. Plus, of course, I wanted to write some hot three-way action between the two of them and some random guy. I think I accomplished all of the above pretty well.

And sure, there's plenty of subtext, so to speak, about my opinions on the Xena/Gabrielle dynamic in canon, and on BDSM, and on lesbianism, and so forth. If you read between the lines you might get a sense for my idea of why X and G choose to include a man in their sex games, and why they choose the particular man that they do, and what they hope to accomplish by it all. I could tell you what I intended by that, or you can read it and decide for yourself, or you can read it and choose to leave it murky as I wrote it. But you know what, I'm not taking any responsibility for a particular reader's interpretation that makes me look like a 'phobe, because that's just bullshit. End of story.

Whew. And that's more than I have written on the topic of fanfic in a looonnnnng time. heh.

In other news, today while Sally had Isaac, I cleared off and cleaned the bathroom sink and shelfy bit on top of the toilet, cleaned the toilet, scrubbed the tub, cleared off and cleaned a fair amount of the kitchen counters, cleared off much of the clutter from my computer desk and rearranged the computer components so as to make more space (did I really need two scanners on my desk, one of which isn't functional? Not so much), and burned a bunch of my important files to a CD for backup. So that was a lot accomplished, especially for like two hours' worth of work, so it feels good. And more importantly, it LOOKS good. And perhaps even more importantly, it SMELLS good. ;) Yay!

* When once the itch of literature comes over a man, nothing can cure it but the scratching of a pen. --Samuel Lover

Date: 2005-03-20 01:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ms-maree.livejournal.com
I sometimes wonder if I'm watching the same show as these people. Because Gab and Xena's relationship becomes pretty damn obvious, if not in the third season, but towards the end.

*shrug* This is amusing to me because a wank was brought up just recently where someone said that the fans ruined Xena by forcing the writers into making her a lesbian. Or something.

Date: 2005-03-20 04:06 am (UTC)
ext_50193: (oh Harry)
From: [identity profile] hawkeye7.livejournal.com
Xena is so straight. That show went so wrong when producers let fans have too much say. Gah...even heroins aren't safe.
[livejournal.com profile] xylia

The thread this comes from
is quite bizarre... [livejournal.com profile] spirityouko returns to Jem fandom only to find that Jem femslahers "had taken over the entire fandom. Honestly I felt like a Sesame Street fan who walked into the fandom and found it overrun with seriously written gay Bert and Ernie stories".

Date: 2005-03-20 05:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Wait...Jem as in the pseudo-Barbie pop star cartoon/doll from the 80s? There's a fandom for that? *boggle*

Date: 2005-03-20 05:49 am (UTC)
ext_50193: (Peppermint Patty)
From: [identity profile] hawkeye7.livejournal.com
That's right. I'd never even heard of the show before I stumbled across its fandom...

Date: 2005-03-20 09:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
I had forgotten about it until you mentioned it. I think I was about 13 when it came out and at the height of my "I wanna be a pop star" phase, so it sort of resonated. Oh, the embarassment.

Date: 2005-03-22 06:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lbmango.livejournal.com
as someone pointed out tome, there's fandom for EVERYTHING.

Then's Pong fanfic!

sheesh.

Date: 2005-03-20 01:32 am (UTC)
xochiquetzl: Claudia from Warehouse 13 (Default)
From: [personal profile] xochiquetzl
Wow. Some people are stupid.

Date: 2005-03-20 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
I seem to recall reading that story many years ago (Xena and Gabrielle are at Harvard?) and my interpretation would be ... different. It brings to mind a discussion I once had with someone in grad school about people in the world who seem to be looking for things to offend them. I don't get why they have to go looking for it when there are so many offensive things just slapping us in the face all the time.

Date: 2005-03-20 04:12 am (UTC)
ext_50193: (Xena and Ares)
From: [identity profile] hawkeye7.livejournal.com
I'm surprised that you would find it strange that someone would write to you after all this time. Your story is, after all, still up on the net for people to read.

I'm surprised at the way that Xena fandom seems to have gone so dead... Whereas with Blake's 7, the mailing lists continue at full volume and people read fanfic written 10 or even 20 years ago.

Date: 2005-03-20 10:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ismenia.livejournal.com
I'd like to join a B7 mailing list. Do you have any suggestions?

Date: 2005-03-20 11:11 pm (UTC)
ext_50193: (Blakes7)
From: [identity profile] hawkeye7.livejournal.com
I suggest the Lyst. See you there!

Date: 2005-03-20 06:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] peterchayward.livejournal.com
Where on your site is it? I couldn't find it from the ToC.

Date: 2005-03-20 12:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] victoriacatlady.livejournal.com
She provides the link directly. Check the beginning of her second paragraph.

(Possibly I might be rereading that story sometime soon. Please don't delete your stories, chlaal.)

Date: 2005-03-20 12:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] peterchayward.livejournal.com
Huh. She does too. Silly Peter.

Thanks a heap, anonymous lady.

Date: 2005-03-21 06:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] victoriacatlady.livejournal.com
You're welcome. Funny, I haven't been thinking of myself as anonymous, even though I keep my real name off LJ. So many other people do that that it seems relatively normal. What, you think I should rename my journal janedoeonLJ or some such?

;-)

Date: 2005-03-20 08:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mofic.livejournal.com
Well at least you affected her through fiction :-). Okay, so it didn't have the effect you were looking for on her, but you can't win 'em all.

I'm continually amazed by what people conclude about the author from reading fanfic.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios