mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Thanks to all who offered suggestions (mostly the same suggestion *g*) on my toddler-playing-in-litterbox dilemma. Many of you suggested a covered litterbox, and rather than post the same reply to each comment, I'll just say here that this is one thing I am definitely considering. I just worry that Bini might have trouble with it; he doesn't deal too well with change. Also, he's a large cat so he would need a large box. I'll probably try to get over to Petco and see what they've got in the next few days.

Meanwhile, recognizing that most of the times Isaac gets into the litterbox are when I let him roam around the house unsupervised, which I do too much anyway, I'm going to try to get better about that. Often in the mornings I let him down from the bed and I lie there another few minutes trying to deny the fact that it's time to get up; and that's when he can get into some trouble. This morning before I took him into my bed I put up a baby gate blocking his entrance into the kitchen (where the litterbox is) and that seemed to work. He loves throwing all his toys over the gate and then coming to me "uh-oh toys!" to tell me to retrieve them for him. ;)

In related news, ironically, I slept better last night than I had the previous two nights. It's ironic because last night Isaac was much more difficult to get to sleep. I think he was almost as congested as I was, and plus there's this whole issue where he naps later and longer on weekends than during the week, so he's not as tired at night. sigh. I ended up lying down on the floor next to his crib because I was just too worn out to stand or even sit. I lay there probably 20-30 minutes until he was asleep, then I got my creaky self up and went to my own bed.

I'm still way congested today, but perversely I feel better. It must be the somewhat better sleep.

Also, the supposed 4-8 inches of snow we were going to get looks more like about 2 from a glance out my window, and it's sunny and supposed to be around 40F today and the next few days, which feels positively balmy these days *roll eyes* so hopefully the snow will melt and we won't have any more and then spring will arrive, dammit.

Also also, yesterday we took my mom's table back to her, which had been sitting in my kitchen ever since my cookie party in early January. I was getting really tired of it taking up like the entire kitchen. It all seems so spacious now that the darn thing is gone! Yay.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios