play ball!
Apr. 1st, 2002 05:49 pmWah! The Sox lost their first game of the season. Guess I'm glad I didn't give in to temptation and rush home to watch the game (boss was out sick, so I could have).
What a weird game too. Tied at 11 after five innings, then neither team scored for the next three! We're not at all worried about Pedro Martinez giving up eight runs (seven earned) in three innings. Nope. Not worried at all.
I'm excited, though; it's always such a long sad winter between the end of the baseball season and the beginning of the new season. Even though it makes me even *more* likely, of a given evening, to sit on my ass all night staring at the TV -- even though it can certainly make my other viewing habits more complicated -- even though every Red Sox fan is destined for disappointment ("You Keep Me Hangin' On" by the Supremes is our theme song) -- even though all that is true, I still look forward to baseball season every year. There's nothin' like it.
I see
musesfool has been waxing poetic on the joys of baseball. I'd do the same, but I'm just grouchy at the moment from PMS and general irritations. So, read what she wrote instead. It's all true. Except for the part about the Yankees -- everyone knows that YANKEES SUCK!
What a weird game too. Tied at 11 after five innings, then neither team scored for the next three! We're not at all worried about Pedro Martinez giving up eight runs (seven earned) in three innings. Nope. Not worried at all.
I'm excited, though; it's always such a long sad winter between the end of the baseball season and the beginning of the new season. Even though it makes me even *more* likely, of a given evening, to sit on my ass all night staring at the TV -- even though it can certainly make my other viewing habits more complicated -- even though every Red Sox fan is destined for disappointment ("You Keep Me Hangin' On" by the Supremes is our theme song) -- even though all that is true, I still look forward to baseball season every year. There's nothin' like it.
I see
no subject
Date: 2002-04-01 04:12 pm (UTC)Hell, I'd love to see the Sox and the Cubs in the Series, except that that would mean the apocalypse must be upon us. *g*
no subject
Date: 2002-04-01 04:49 pm (UTC)And every Cub fan, too. The Cubs left 12 men on base today, and lost to Cinci by one run in the 9th. ::sigh:: I feel your pain.
(And yes! A Cubs/Red Sox series! Someday before we both die! *g*)
no subject
Date: 2002-04-01 08:52 pm (UTC)Hey, if the Rangers could win a Stanley Cup after 54 years, breaking the curse, anything is possible.
You Gotta Believe.
Uh, oops, Mets slogan. Sorry. *g*
no subject
Date: 2002-04-01 09:09 pm (UTC)Go Cubs! Cubs vs. Sox in the Series, that would rule! And it would be a nice air-conditioned relief for all the damned souls in Hades. :)