mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Hmm, where to begin?? Well, Isaac went down for his nap a little past noon yesterday. And he slept a grand total of 20 minutes. Whee! Compared to a typical nap of 2 to 3 hours, it was not inspiring. I spent about half an hour trying to get him back down, then gave up and in desperation tossed a bunch of stuff in the car and took us over to grandma's.

So we played, we tried to feed him and he fussed, we played more, tried to get him to sleep and he fussed, tried to feed him and he screamed, tried to get him to sleep, etc., etc. -- Finally I lay down with him on grandma's bed and nursed him, and when he was done he sat up and started chattering. Grandma came and took him away and I remained on her bed in a flop, where eventually I fell asleep and when I woke up it was 4:30 and Isaac was asleep as well.

This was problematic as we were supposed to go to a dinner party that started at 3. Not that it would matter if we were late, but if I let him sleep on, not only might we miss the whole party, but he would never go down that night. So I gave him till 4:45 (as my mom said he had gone down at 3:45) and then I woke him up. Normally I don't condone waking a sleeping baby, but there were circumstances, dammit.

Anyway, I just put his coat on and popped him in the car, so when we got to the party he was pretty groggy and bewildered by the unfamiliar setting and hordes of unfamiliar people. But he warmed up after a bit of food and so forth, and eventually was running around like he owned the place, somewhat to the dismay of the hostess's nephew who is just a few weeks younger than Isaac and who felt that he had much more claim to owning the place. ;) It was funny to watch them interacting -- Isaac kept saying "baby!" and I was like, "you're a baby too you know." LOL ... anyway, it was a fun party with mostly the host's and hostess's families, most of whom I knew, and with lots of excellent food, most of which Isaac refused.

Then the other little guy got fussy and his parents decided it was time for them to leave, so they started putting on their coats, and Isaac started saying "bye-bye baby!" and the other baby started saying "bye-bye!" and Isaac was following them down the hall to the front door saying "bye-bye baby" with the other baby saying "bye-bye!" It was really funny. :)

I had spent some time agonizing over a gift for my longtime friend who was hosting the party; she and her husband are in the process of getting approved to adopt a child from China, and I wanted to get a silly but not cheesy adoption-related gift. (I definitely did NOT want to get something lame and hokey like a heartwarming book in which a child is adopted and lives happily ever after, or some such crap.) I had settled on a Cabbage Patch Kid doll, which as you may not be aware are "back in." I thought it would be funny because they come with adoption papers, get it? get it? But a couple of people had told me it would be horribly offensive. In the end I decided to trust that the recipient of the gift would take it in the right spirit, because she has a very similar sense of humor to mine and even if she did think it was offensive she would understand my intentions.

Anyway, it went over quite well; she said it was "appalling but funny," which is pretty much exactly how I intended it, so yay. And much merriment ensued when she unwrapped it to the delight (or at least surprise) of all the gathered guests.

Then it was nearing bedtime, so we came home and went to bed. And woke up this morning to find our white Christmas came a day late. :P I drove Isaac over to grandma's place in the snow -- he still doesn't like interacting with it; he prefers to watch it from the safety of the house or even inside the car -- and I came back home, supposedly to get ready for our babysitter to come over at noon and help me get my place organized and cleaned up for next weekend's cookie party. But when I got home there was a message from her saying she's going to be late and won't be here till 1:00 instead. So I have an extra hour to myself, which is nice for me, but I hope my mom won't be upset if she has to have Isaac an extra hour as well. Hmm. I better go call her and let her know.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios