mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
No one replied to my post a couple days ago where I said that all my posts are boring lately. I conclude from this that my posts are so boring that everyone has stopped reading them, and therefore, I am free to post whatever boring shit I want! Ha! How d'ya like that logic? :)

So, on with the post. It goes like this: On Monday when I took possession of my new car, I drove it directly to my insurance agent's office to give him the paperwork to go and get it registered. Technically it's illegal to switch your license plates and go drive your new car when you haven't registered it yet, so I wanted it done asap. (I could have gone to the registry myself, but I didn't want to take more time off work, and my agent provides that service, so....) Well, one of the things my insurance agent required was a blank check made out to the RMV. Apparently you can't know exactly how much it'll cost to switch your registration because it depends on the value of the car, which the RMV decides for itself based on its own arcane criteria which have nothing to do with how much you actually paid for the car. So, I wrote the check and went on my merry scofflaw way.

The good news is, I got my new registration in the mail yesterday. That was nice and fast! The bad news is, it cost $350!! Ugh! $15 for the registration, $50 for the title, and $285 in sales tax. Groan! It never occurred to me that they'd charge sales tax, but of course they would. Sigh.

Oh well. That's life I guess. And the new car rocks, so it's worth it. Grump.

In other car-related news, I went over the other day and cleared all my stuff out of the old car, which is now waiting to be picked up by the nice folks from the AIDS Action Committee to whom I'm donating it.

I am sad about the loss of the bumper stickers on my old car, namely:
* my Oberlin sticker (supposedly a cling but it broke into pieces when I tried to remove it)
* "My Goddess gave birth to your god"
* "Without dissent it's not America" (bought from the now unfortunately defunct gwbush.com)
* "Teach Peace"
* My Red Sox "Believe" sticker
* My HRC gay-rights equal-sign sticker

I found a replacement equal-sign hanging around, so that's cool. And I had my old "Yankees Suck" sticker which I never put on the car because shortly after I bought it, 9/11 happened and it didn't seem appropriate and then it disappeared into the morass of crap in the car ;) only to reappear the other day when I went and cleaned all my stuff out of the old car. I also found a "War doesn't determine who's right, only who's left," so I put that on, but it was all crumpled already so it looks pretty bad. I gotta get me some new stickers.

In Isaac news, he can now say the names of two of the other little boys in his daycare: Robert and Austin. :) He also now says "mirror." Or possibly "me." It's hard to be sure as he says it while pointing at his reflection. :)

And now if you'll excuse me, I have to go pop some Tylenol and curl up in a little ball. Stupid menstrual cramps. :P

Date: 2004-11-18 12:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ww1614.livejournal.com
:P

I read everything you write.

OK, I skipped over some of the car stuff, but mainly because of jealousy because our blue car is at the end of its life and we can't afford a new one, even a new used one

Date: 2004-11-18 01:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] peterchayward.livejournal.com
I read everything including the car stuff. Ha! Take that!

Date: 2004-11-22 08:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
heh, that doesn't prove anything except that you need a life. ;)

Date: 2004-11-22 08:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Aww. You just gotta do what I do: find an elderly relative whose health is deteriorating and whose relatives are moving her assets out of her name, and offer to relieve them of $11,000 of her money. (That's the yearly maximum that anyone can give as a gift to a relative without having to pay taxes on it.)

Date: 2004-11-18 12:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ide-cyan.livejournal.com
These aren't bumper stickers, but I just found a link to this site on my Flist...

http://www.tshirthell.com/babyhell.shtml

Some of them are pretty offensive (um... yeah, definitely), but there's a pro-choice t-shirt in there.

Date: 2004-11-18 01:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
With you on the curling up in a ball. I just try to be happy my ever-wacky cycle decided to hit this week instead of next, when I'll be cooking and cleaning and wanting to enjoy myself around other people.

Your slogans need to mate with [livejournal.com profile] psu_jedi's (as listed here and have happy little stickers together.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios