I haven't posted much about politics lately because (don't hit me,
lunaris_!) I just kind of feel like there's nothing left for me to say. I mean, you all know how I feel already. Bush and his puppetmasters are despicable excuses for human beings, what they have done to our country is just plain evil, and Kerry, well, Kerry is no prize, but he's our only hope. I have no qualms about voting for Kerry whatsoever; I'm not crazy about him, but we NEED him to win.
Am I optimistic, or pessimistic about the outcome? well, that depends on the particular five-minute period during which you ask me. I waffle a lot. What I do know is that I can't WAIT for it to be over already. I am so fucking sick of it all. I can't even imagine how I'd be feeling if I lived in a state where the outcome was less certain -- I certainly don't envy
mishaslair in Ohio, or anyone else on my flist who might be in a swing state! I can't imagine how inundated you guys must be. *I* feel inundated, and I've only heard two, count 'em two radio ads (one Bush, one Kerry) and seen approximately zero TV ads.
Anyway. So that's why I'm not talking about it. That, and the fact that y'all are doing so well for me. *g* Anyone who really wants to know what I'm thinking about the elections can go read
plaidder for the pithy commentary, or
ww1614 for the multiplicity of links and rantings on every new outrageous thing the Bushies do, no matter how minor ;) . And of course if you're lookin' for squick there's always
johnxjohn! Ewww.
Am I optimistic, or pessimistic about the outcome? well, that depends on the particular five-minute period during which you ask me. I waffle a lot. What I do know is that I can't WAIT for it to be over already. I am so fucking sick of it all. I can't even imagine how I'd be feeling if I lived in a state where the outcome was less certain -- I certainly don't envy
Anyway. So that's why I'm not talking about it. That, and the fact that y'all are doing so well for me. *g* Anyone who really wants to know what I'm thinking about the elections can go read
no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 11:40 am (UTC)Oh, man. I just clicked on that. My brain!
And, yeah, it is overwhelming to be in Ohio right now. But I'd rather be here than in a solidly red state.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 12:02 pm (UTC)*looks at Jawjah on a map and sighs*
no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 12:06 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 01:25 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-10-18 11:42 am (UTC)Really, I know how you feel. From Sunday morning until Friday evening I'm in News Mode, and some days - hell, some *hours* - the news looks bad. But things are good enough that in spite of those rough spots I'm feeling good about the outcome. But in those days before the debates when it really did look like we were sliding past the point of no return I was holding on by a thread. Anyone coming near me with a bladed object was cause for great distress!
Kerry's not perfect, no. But I can feel good voting for him and not just agaist Bush. But what I really cannot fathom are the people who think Bush is doing a good job. I get that some people can't be *for* Kerry; I just don't get the ones that can't be against Bush. It boggles and depresses me.