mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
[personal profile] mamajoan
MAN, what a game last night! Urgh! I actually threw in the towel after the 11th inning -- not that I was conceding the game, just conceding my ability to stay awake for it. I set the TiVo to record the end and went to bed. Watched the ending this morning (although the radio guy "spoiled" me on it before I got there). woohoo! go Sox!

The other day I said I was feeling optimistic about the Sox's chances even though they had lost. Well, now they've won and I'm feeling pessimistic. Don't get me wrong, I'm thrilled that they won last night, because to lose the series by being swept four games in a row would have really hurt, and now at least we can salvage some of our dignity. But I just don't see how we can beat the Yankees three more times, especially as tired as our guys must be by now. (Okay, their guys are tired too, but some of them are not actually human. I'm talking about Matsui and Rivera. Those two are some sort of biomechanoid hybrid, or possibly aliens. Or both.) Still, it could happen, and you can't give up, and it ain't over till it's over. And as one fan's sign in the stands last night said, "You have to believe it to see it." Go Sox!

In other news, happy birthday to [livejournal.com profile] jenwrites, and happy Monday to the rest of us schlubs. *Yawn* Damn, I should've gone to bed in the 10th. ;)

Date: 2004-10-18 08:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jenwrites.livejournal.com
Thanks! And good luck with those Red Sox. Their history isn't very inspiring at this point :(

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios