fall TV

Sep. 27th, 2004 04:35 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
OK, apparently my wacky weekend wasn't comment-worthy. Hello? Is this thing on?

Fall TV:

* I saw a few people on my flist saying that they liked this "Veronica Mars" show, which I hadn't even heard of, but what the heck -- on the recommendation of the flist I set TiVo to record the repeat of the pilot. Well, I watched the first thirty seconds but it wasn't closed-captioned, and I'm sorry but any show that lacks captions lacks me as a viewer. I like having captions because my hearing sucks, but more than that, I NEED captions because I do so much of my TV viewing while nursing Isaac to sleep or after he's in bed. So, maybe it was a glitch and I should try the next episode? Or is it not worth it...?

* Everyone is saying how interesting the premiere of "Lost" was, and apparently it's supposed to be sci-fi-y even though the previews don't really make that clear. So I've got TiVo set for the repeat of the premiere next Saturday.

* And how much do I love the fact that the networks are finally catching on and rerunning the premieres? It just makes so much sense -- some of us can't keep track or aren't aware of the new shows, but also hate to miss the first episode, so now when people tell us which shows are looking good, we still have a chance to catch it from the beginning.

* And in case you didn't notice, I just mentioned TiVoing stuff, so yes, my TiVo is functional again! Yay! Mad props to the nice folks at http://www.weaknees.com for sending me the new hard drive along with the necessary tools and very clear, easy-to-follow directions. As a tech writer I applaud the craft, and as a consumer I just basically say "squee! my TiVo is back in action! I missed you, my preciousssssss!" :)

Date: 2004-09-27 04:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ww1614.livejournal.com
Re your last post:
So SO SO overworked right now. However, I respond to any and all Veronica Mars posts. :) It's my new favorite show, much to my surprise. Of course, I haven't seen Desperate Housewives or Kevin Hill yet, but I'd be watching those for certain actors, not because I like the sound of the show, so the chances of those shows catching me are slim.

I don't know about the closed captions. :( My downstairs tv is not cc-ed, and though I watched VM upstairs a few times, I didn't check the ccs. I'll check tomorrow in my tv viewing orgy (Scrubs, Veronica Mars, Nip/Tuck--Scrubs will get scrubbed, methinks; I can't wait til after October 5).

Date: 2004-09-28 08:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I guess it must have been a fluke. I caught the VM pilot again this evening and it did have captions, so I TiVo'd it.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios