mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Man, what a weekend! I think I aged five years, like some sort of reverse Dorian Gray. *groan*

On Friday night, my mom and I went to the Red Sox game, leaving Isaac with my friend M who has now babysat him a total of three times -- and that's her entire babysitting experience in life, not counting her younger siblings. She was watching him at my mom's place and I had planned for us to sleep over there, because it was more convenient for a variety of reasons. So M put Isaac to sleep in the bed in the guest bedroom (not the crib because she finds it easier to get him to sleep in the bed). When we got home from the game he had been asleep almost an hour.

I didn't want to risk waking him by getting into bed with him, so I lay down on the sofa. I figured he would wake up fairly soon and cry, and I would get in with him at that point.

Well, I woke up to pee and it was 6:00 a.m., so I was pretty surprised that he wasn't awake yet, but whatever. I went back to sleep on the sofa.

Next thing I know there's a little voice in my ear saying "doo?" and I open my eyes and it's 8:00 and THERE'S ISAAC STANDING NEXT TO THE COUCH STARING AT ME!!! AUGH!!!! And there's my mom in the doorway going "how long have you been up?" Me? Up? I'm not up! I'm dead of a heart attack right here on the couch!

Just to reconstruct the scene -- Isaac woke up, and instead of crying, somehow crawled/climbed/fell out of the bed (without making noise) and came into the living room to find me. And my mom just happened to get up at that point and was walking by and saw him standing beside the couch and, not realizing that I was still asleep, assumed that we were playing. So she was all surprised that she hadn't heard us playing, and meanwhile I was kind of stuck on this whole MY CHILD GOT OUT OF BED BY HIMSELF thing. OK, it's not as dramatic as climbing out of a crib, but STILL.

Whew! So that's the last time we let M or anyone else put him to sleep on the bed unsupervised!

Anyway, by the time I had recovered from that *g* it was about 10:00 on Saturday morning, and we decided to do some yard-sale-hopping. So we went out and followed some signs and visited a few yard sales, one of which turned out to be my mom's friend J who gave me her old fridge. We bought a lot of stuff, including a new laundry hamper for Isaac's clothes, a pop-top trash can for his dirty diapers, a set of stacking shelves for toys and books, a filing cabinet that my mom insisted I need for my papers, a few toys, a pair of shoes and a scarf and a new purse for me, a weird soft climby/sitty/padded thingie that defies better description, and probably some other stuff that I'm forgetting. Oh, and a big green inflatable alien that makes a weird keening noise every time it moves. I'm going to hang it outside our door for Halloween. :)

Much of the stuff we had bought was big and heavy, so we had to walk back and get mom's car and then drive back to the yard sales and pick up all the stuff. Then we went back to mom's place and were very very hungry. So we ate, and I tried to get Isaac to nap but couldn't, so my mom went to try, and while she was trying I picked up my crossword puzzle, but the letters were blurry and I couldn't focus, so I put it down and lay down. It was about 2:00 at this point, maybe 2:15.

I woke up, and it was 5:00. Yikes! And Isaac was still asleep. Yay! But then it got to be 5:30 and almost 6:00, and if he kept napping he would never go to sleep that night. Ack! So I went and made some noise in his vicinity and he woke up. Then we took all the yard-sale stuff back to my place and ordered pizza and watched the Red Sox game, and then mom went home and we went to bed.

Sunday morning, the first thing Isaac did was crawl off the edge of my bed and fall on his face. *sigh* So much for a slow, gentle waking-up process. He was fine after approx. five seconds of cuddling. I on the other hand grew a bunch more gray hairs and lost another couple years.

Anyway, then we met up with Brian, my co-homeowner, and together we walked the lawn mower back to my friend J who had loaned it to us like three months ago. *blush* Chatted with her and her husband a bit, admired their partially-finished new deck on the back of their house, then started to walk home, detoured briefly to look at another yard sale, realized it was pointless because I didn't have any money with me. ;) Continued on home. Isaac fell asleep in the stroller to my surprise, but when we got home he woke up when I took the keys out of his fist. Alas. Couldn't get him back to sleep, so we spent the rest of the day playing, went out and did some brief grocery shopping, came back ... and he fell asleep at 6pm. SIGH. What to do? I knew he wasn't going to sleep through the night because he hadn't had dinner yet. I hate to wake him, but if I let him nap, then he'd be up all night! Well, I dithered for about 45 minutes and then he woke up. But he was sooooo droopy and groggy and cranky. Sigh. I fed him a bit, he tried to play a bit but was too tired. I gave him a bath and tried and tried to get him to sleep, with no luck. He ended up crying himself to sleep in the crib, which I absolutely hate, but I was at my wits' end by that point. And then he got his revenge by waking up again a couple hours later, just as I was getting into bed. Sigh. So it wasn't the best night, but whatever, we survived it and now I have caffeine.

Man, last week and weekend were just too eventful for my taste. I would like a quieter week now, kthxbi.

Date: 2004-09-27 02:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ide-cyan.livejournal.com
I once got woken up by my aunt's dog, who is exactly as old as your son, when she came over to visit and her dog found her way downstairs to my bedroom and put her muzzle in my face. But dogs grow up faster.

Hallowe'en's arriving so quickly. I saw decorations on sale a couple of weeks ago already. It's my favourite holiday, but I don't know if I'll even celebrate it... well, apart from having naturally greying witch's hair, but that's an all-year-round thing.

Date: 2004-09-28 10:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Just catching up on LJ. Wow, he's really growing! Soon you'll be teaching him to drive and sending him to the store for chocolate...

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios