catch-up?

Sep. 24th, 2004 03:13 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Wow, has life been "interesting" the last few days. I got moved to a new office, which as office moves always are was annoying and rage-honing. But whatever, it's done now and everything seems to be functional again. I did, uh, stuff ... the exact nature of which escapes me now *g* ... every night this week and it's been pretty exhausting. Tonight I'm going to the Red Sox/Yankees game and I just hope I can stay awake for the whole thing. Heh, games against the Yankees are generally pretty exciting, esp. in September, so I'm sure I'll manage it.

It seems like a lot of my friends really liked this "Lost" show, which I had barely even heard about, but now apparently I might have to check it out. The pilot is rerunning a week from tomorrow from what I hear, and hopefully *knock wood* my TiVo will be functional again by then, so I can record it and check it out at my leisure. (The FedEx tracking page says that my new hard drive was delivered this afternoon, yay!)

In Isaac news, he is working very hard on the two big skills of walking and talking. Walking-wise, he does his best work if you hold his hands, but he is generally amenable to walking around a bit with you only holding one of his hands. And he finally realized that his push-toy is fun and not an instrument of the devil carefully designed so as to cause him horrible torment, or something. :) By which I mean, he now loves to push the toy around. But he hasn't figured out how to steer it, so he basically just goes straight forward until he walks into something, whereupon he stops and yells for someone to come turn him around. LOL. This gets old, but at least it's easier on my back than holding his hands and walking him around, so it's okay. I'm sure he will figure out the turning thing eventually. Meanwhile, I'm not pushing him too hard to walk unassisted, but he's definitely almost there. He's cruising (moving around by holding onto furniture) and has occasionally managed to stand by himself without holding onto anything for a whole ten seconds at a time.

As for the language skills, they are coming along nicely. He's definitely into the stage where only those who know him can recognize his words ;) but he does have quite a few words once you know them. He says ball, car, door, cat(kitty), cheese (his favorite food), juice, walk, and of course bye-bye. Lately when he's on the changing table he has been patting the wall next to him and I say "wall" and he seems to be saying it back. He also says "boob," which is the word I've used for nursing, which is pretty funny. So he can ask to nurse now. He's also fascinated by my belly-button and will point and say "bah" until I pull down my pants so it's visible. Then he points at it and giggles and I say "belly button" and he laughs. Then he points at my boobs and says "boob." :) He's also working on "elbow," his other favorite body part. Oh, and I think he's been trying to say "keys," one of his favorite toys, and "toy," which is a generic term I use for all his toys that I don't have a better word for.

It's really cool to hear him communicating and to see how quickly he's picking up new words! I love that when he's fussing I can say "tell mama what you want" and he can say "oo-waaah" (walk) and I know he wants me to get up and walk him around. Yay for language acquisition! :)

So that's the nutshell version, whee. Now back to trying to keep my eyes open....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios