mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Activist Mama
You're an agitator! Your kids have grown up on the
front lines of rallies and pickets, and chances
are that you boycott at least one company for
its bad business practices. Your kids are
learning what matters to you and how they can
change what matters to them.

What kind of a freaky mother are you?
brought to you by Quizilla
Ya got that right, pal! :)

Last night I went to the Red Sox game and for the first 5 or 6 innings, I thought I was being punished for having said that I hoped the previous Tuesday's game would be boring ;) -- which I said out of spite because I couldn't go due to lack of babysitter. Anyway, but by the 6th or 7th it was getting interesting if only in the sense that Curt Schilling had a three-hit shutout going and 14 strikeouts. Then in the bottom of the 8th, the Red Sox managed to squeeze a run out of the really dominant Orioles pitcher, and for the top of the 9th we brought in our closer who got two outs, so it looked like a lock.

And then he gave up a two-run homer. 2-1 Baltimore. D'OH!!!!!

Luckily the Sox rallied in *extremely* dramatic fashion in the bottom of the 9th, put together another two runs and won the game. So it was all good in the end. Except that Foulke blew the save and Schilling didn't get the win despite his incredible performance. There is no justice.

So that was fun, and then I got home to Isaac fast asleep (my mom was babysitting) and he slept through the night for the first time in a few weeks, which of course was great. Yay.

I notice I haven't posted anything political in quite a while. That's probably because I'm feeling pretty discouraged. I feel like Bush is a shoo-in and it really upsets me -- not just because obviously I think that's going to be a horrible disaster for our country and the world, but also, because it didn't have to be that way. I had really hoped that Kerry would learn from Gore's mistakes in 2000 and not run such a wishy-washy, ineffective, wimpy campaign. But apparently that's what they've been doing and it just makes me alternately sad and angry. The Democrats DO stand for things, they DO have important issues that they feel passionately about -- and yet somehow they seem to feel like it's not okay to express that. Like they have to be all calm and cool-headed and noncommittal. What are we, Vulcans? Come fucking ON, people! Argh....

But anyway, I'm still planning to watch the debates, at least part of them. I sure hope my TiVo is functional by then, cuz no way am I watching that stuff without a fast-forward button available to me.

Date: 2004-09-22 12:47 pm (UTC)
ext_1895: (Kerry)
From: [identity profile] lunaris1013.livejournal.com
Good god, no wonder the GOP thinks we're a bunch of losers. I'm seeing this same attitude all over LJ and it stinks. We still have six weeks until the election. Kerry is making some bold speeches, top Senate Republicans are coming out and saying Bush screwed up, and we haven't even gotten to the debates yet!

First, I want you to go here (http://www.michaelmoore.com/words/message/index.php?messageDate=2004-09-20) and let Uncle Michael give you a swift kick in the pants. Then take a look at the numbers at http://www.electoral-vote.com. As of today's polls, Kerry's back on to p of the electoral count.

Now get back in the game, girl!

Date: 2004-09-22 01:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Rather than start a flame war in [livejournal.com profile] chlaal's journal, I deleted my previous comment and moved it to my own journal (http://www.livejournal.com/users/mishaslair/83137.html). You are welcome to respond over there, if you so choose, but again, in hindsight I thought it was better not to rant in someone else's journal.

Date: 2004-09-22 02:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Well, I don't really put any stock in polls, and I certainly don't need a pep talk from Michael Whore, er I mean Moore. ;) Listen, I'm not saying I won't vote for Kerry. I'm just saying I'm really disappointed, perhaps even disgusted, by the lame campaign he has been running for a year now, which a few eleventh-hour speeches aren't doing much to counter.

And I'm also saying (well, I didn't actually say it in the post, but it was my subtext) that I'm really alarmed and depressed by the sheeplike uncritical nature of Bush supporters. The thing is, we aren't going to sway these people with logic or facts. Pointing out what Dubya has done wrong means nothing to them. They like him because he says what they want to hear and because they buy into that folksy demeanor of his, which is in stark contrast to the stiff humorless mien that Gore, er I mean Kerry projects. They like Bush because he says things are okay and are going to be okay. They don't care that things aren't okay, and they don't want to hear about the details; they just care that he SAYS he'll make everything okay. These aren't rational thinkers we're dealing with here; they're sheep, and Kerry ain't speaking sheep language.

Date: 2004-09-22 03:18 pm (UTC)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios