mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I have decided to take Isaac to daycare on Wednesday morning -- probably a bit earlier than usual. Then I'll go into the city and meet my Worldcon buddies and we'll do the touristy thing until about 3 or 4, whereupon I'll go pick Isaac up, and then depending on what kind of mood he's in and what everyone else is up to, I might bring him along to dinner with everyone, or I might have everyone come over to our place so Isaac can chill out in his familiar surroundings. We'll play it by ear.

And on Friday I'm also going to take him to daycare, and my mom has volunteered to do pickup! Yay! So she can take him to her place and then I can go over there to get him, and again we'll decide what to do about dinner and any other evening plans, based on Isaac's and everyone else's mood.

I'm still not entirely sure what I'll do with him for the weekend -- gotta give our babysitter a call now that she's back from her vacation -- but I'm feeling pretty confident now that I'll figure something out. I do want to take him to some of the con, so he can soak in that fannish atmosphere ;) , but I also know that he's not going to have a whole lot of stamina for it, and I definitely don't want to be one of those parents who drags their screaming, whining, clearly unhappy kid around a con for hours on end making everyone's life miserable.

In other news, it seems that I'm reconsidering my plan to get a station wagon to replace my current sedan (which you may recall needs several thousand bucks worth of work). It all started when I mentioned to a coworker that I was in the market for a station wagon, and he commented that he and his wife had a wagon and a sedan and were thinking of trading the wagon in for a second sedan. He said they have realized that the number of times they say, "We better take the wagon, because we're going to need the extra room" are extremely few, and they just like driving the sedan better anyway. And they have TWO kids!

So I started thinking about my reasons for thinking that I needed a wagon, and I realized that I don't *really* need that much extra space. I might need it every once in a while, and then I can always borrow my mom's wagon. But if I had a sedan that was maybe a little more spacious than my current one, and if I could get myself in the habit of NOT keeping the kitchen sink in my car ;) , I could probably get along just fine.

So I guess I'm going to start looking for a sedan. I'm not really familiar with the models, but I'm leaning toward a Toyota (probably a Corolla) or a Subaru. I need something that's reliable and will handle well on snow; the latter is my biggest complaint with my current car (I mean, aside from the needing lots of work thing). I'm thinking a '97 or newer. Of course, it's all moot until my mom and our cousin Ellie figure out how to transfer this chunk of my grandma's money from Ellie to me (very long complicated story). Until that gets done, I can barely afford a Tonka, let alone an actual car. ;)

OK, gotta get some work done. More later.

Date: 2004-08-30 08:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babyotto.livejournal.com
I can wave the flag for Subarus - we got one when Otto was on the way and haven't regretted it - even Mr Babyotto, who is allergic to buying big things especially cars, raves about it to people. Plus, very safe.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios