core dump

Aug. 3rd, 2004 03:15 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Happy World Breastfeeding Week! Let me take this opportunity to say, to every woman I know who has ever breastfed (whether for one day or five years), You go, girl!

In Isaac news, he spent the weekend (at our summer cottage) practicing pulling himself up to stand, using various furniture. By Sunday evening he had gotten pretty darn good at it. He also climbed up the six or so stairs, leading from the lawn to the cottage's deck, a bunch of times. Fortunately for my blood pressure, he hasn't yet tried to climb DOWN the stairs. He goes to the edge and looks down and then pretty much goes, "naaah." He has yet to figure out that he could turn around and go backwards down the stairs.

Isaac and I have a new bedtime routine; who knows how long it will last, but for now it's doing us pretty well. We do our usual getting-ready-for-bed routine and then I nurse him to sleep and put him down in his crib, and he sleeps through the night. He usually goes down around 9:30pm and most mornings he's still asleep when I go to get him around 7:00am. I take him into bed with me and nurse him to awake ;) and then we get up and get ready for our day. Anyway, this routine is nice because I get a couple of hours to myself at night after he's asleep, and I get a bunch of hours of uninterrupted sleep in my bed. I still am having difficulty realizing/believing that I have a child who sleeps through the night! It seems so foreign to me! But I'm enjoying it while it lasts, which probably will be until the next time he has a tooth coming in.

Last week I went to get my thyroid re-tested and today I talked to the nurse-practitioner about it. She said that my levels are still slightly low. She didn't want to bump me all the way up to the next pill size, which is twice what I'm getting now, so she just told me to take one extra pill per week -- i.e., one day a week I'll take two pills in the morning instead of one -- and we'll retest again in six weeks to see whether that's the right dosage. She asked me whether my periods have been regular, which I guess is a barometer of thyroid levels, and I said that the three periods I've had since I started having 'em again were fairly regularly spaced ... for whatever that's worth. Anyway, we'll see what happens with that.

Also, since I'm apparently core-dumping the minutiae of my life, here's a rundown on the books I've recently read:

Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde, sequel to the delightful The Eyre Affair. This one was almost as good, definitely very entertaining and a lot of fun for us literary geeks. I didn't realize it would end on a cliffhanger though! Must run my ass over to the library and get hold of the next book in the series.

Little Green Men by Christopher Buckley. This one was pretty good. I picked it up because I've really enjoyed Buckley's previous works of satire: The White House Mess (about a fictional president's disastrous first term in office) and the wonderfully titled No Way To Treat a First Lady (about a fictional First Lady on trial for murdering the President). Little Green Men is about a fictional TV talk-show host who gets abducted by aliens (OR DOES HE?) and becomes a crusader for the UFO movement. It was a bit less entertaining than the other two novels I mentioned, just because a lot of it was predictable, but still written very wittily and an entertaining read.

Next up is Stardust by Neil Gaiman, which I'm embarrassed to admit I haven't ever read, and then hopefully the next Fforde book if I can find it; if not, whatever else I find at the library -- hopefully also one or two of the Hugo-nominated novels, even though I've already missed the voting deadline....

And speaking of books, courtesy of Nalo Hopkinson via [livejournal.com profile] ide_cyan, here's the Alison Bechdel benchmark for judging a book/movie: does it have at least two women in it? Do they have a conversation? about something other than men? On the last few books I've read:

Kill Two Birds and Get Stoned by Kinky Friedman:
Two women? Yes, though one is a very minor character
Do they have a conversation? No
About something other than a man? n/a
Comments: But you don't expect much in the way of feminism from Kinky anyway.

Lost in a Good Book Jasper Fforde:
Two women? Yes
Conversation? Yes
Not about a man? Yes
Comments: Not surprising given what a great character the protagonist is.

The Da Vinci Code Dan Brown:
Two women? No (Edit: unless you count the character who's introduced in the last few pages of the book. I don't think that counts.)
Conversation? n/a
Not about a man? n/a
Comments: See previous entries about how much I hated this book.

Little Green Men by Christopher Buckley:
Two women? Yes
Conversation? Yes
Not about a man? Debatable
Comments: The main character's secretary and the Hollywood starlet have many conversations that are referred to "offscreen," about the starlet's adventures, many of which, we're given to understand, involved sexual escapades. So that's sort of about men.

Wow, I didn't intend this post to be nearly so long. Sorry. Heh.

Date: 2004-08-03 12:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ide-cyan.livejournal.com
One more for the interest, yay!

...from what I've heard of The Da Vinci Code, it seems I'd be better off buying Millennium DVDs and rewatching the episode "Anamnesis".

Date: 2004-08-09 01:14 pm (UTC)
azurelunatic: Vivid pink Alaskan wild rose. (Default)
From: [personal profile] azurelunatic
I was thinking about that standard just last night when I was trying to fall asleep. All three of the original Star Wars movies fail. I think Attack of the Clones fails -- wait. The stand-in gets axed, and I think she tells the Senator that it's all OK. In The Phantom Menace, Padme and company chat with each other.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios