mamajoan: me in hammock (got snark?)
[personal profile] mamajoan
My current pet peeve is people who put up yard-sale signs that just say "TODAY!" with no date. This is evil and wrong. People who do that should be legally required to go around after the yard sale is over and take down every single sign they put up. And if your yard sale was on a previous day, and I find a sign with your address on it saying "Yard sale today," I should be allowed to come to your house and choose one item in your possession, and you have to give it to me for fifty cents, regardless of whether it were something you had actually tried to sell at the yard sale.

If I'm feeling charitable, I'd add a caveat to the law that it only applies to small items like books, CDs, etc. -- but only when I'm feeling charitable. ;) All your TV are belong to me!

In other peeve news, I'm getting a teeny little bit irritated with all the people going around saying stuff like, "If you care at all about America, you must go see Fahrenheit 9/11!" or "If you live in America and you plan to vote, you must go see Fahrenheit 9/11!" OK, I live in America and care about America and plan to vote ... so are YOU going to come to my house and babysit my child while I see a movie? For that matter, are you gonna pay the nine bucks? Because I have a mortgage, people.

Don't get me wrong -- I want to see the movie, I value its message and I think it's probably a pretty important movie for a lot of people to see (despite the fact that Michael Moore himself is getting progressively more annoying by the day). But this hyperbole is just as bad as the stuff the other side slings at us -- you know, the "if you say anything bad about W, it means you hate America and support terrorists!" crowd. Let's not stoop to that level, okay people?

I know I'm feeling snarky when I end not one but TWO paragraphs with "people" like that. ;) OK, time for my morning caffeine. ;)

Date: 2004-07-06 08:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] obsessedmuch.livejournal.com
*offers snarky, smirking CK* Have that with your caffeine, it's a very, very nice addition to the morning, believe me (people)!

*hugs you for giving me the giggles.*

Date: 2004-07-06 08:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sydb42.livejournal.com
I agree with you about the yard sale signs, but I would go even further and say if the yard sale sign is up and your yard sale isn't today (even if the date IS on the poster), you get fined (though your idea of selling anything you want in their house for 50 cents is better). ;) I've even had fantasies of being the person who drives around fining all the people who leave up their old yard sale signs. Very aggravating.

As for Farenheit 9/11, I want to see it too, but no, I don't think it's a "if you care about your country, you must go see this" sort of thing. I think it's a "if you're interested in yet another series of reasons to oust W, you should go see this movie if you can". ;) I had the option of seeing Farenheit 9/11 or Spider-Man 2 with the last time I had babysitting (and didn't have something else scheduled) and Spidey, I'm afraid, won out. How's THAT for patriotic? ;)

Date: 2004-07-06 08:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] frightened.livejournal.com
My current pet peeve is people who put up yard-sale signs that just say "TODAY!" with no date. This is evil and wrong. People who do that should be legally required to go around after the yard sale is over and take down every single sign they put up.

Yes!

Can they also take down 'Wet Paint' signs when the paint is no longer wet, please?

Date: 2004-07-06 02:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] 00smut.livejournal.com
I know what you mean about Fahrenheit 9/11. I should be surprised that so many people don't realize that taking the movie as law is lazy. Bush and Moore are like point and counterpoint, neither are spot on and to take up either side completely is just silly.

I like Moore in the same way that I like Ralph Nader. Both stress the importance of being informed, of doing your own choosing and research. Unfortunatley, when it comes to both these men people just hide behind them and never do the work.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios