mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Dr. Robert Levin, an internationally-renowned Mozart scholar, gave a talk to my choir at our rehearsal last Saturday. :) His version of the Mozart Requiem is slowly gaining acceptance as a more definitive version than the commonly-performed (and reviled) Sussmayer version.

Mozart died without having finished the Requiem, and, desperate for money, his widow Constanze took it to several people who had known him, asking them to finish it. At least one person wrote some stuff on Mozart's original score but then gave up. Sussmayer, the guy who did complete it for Constanze, was more a clerk than a musician, and he apparently ignored a lot of the scraps of paper that Constanze had given him with scribblings in Mozart's handwriting. He did finish the piece and forged Mozart's name on the front, and for many years it was accepted as the definitive version, until finally Sussmayer fessed up about what he had done. So ever since then, for almost two hundred years, there has been a ton of controversy over what Mozart actually wrote, what he intended to write, what should have been done with the scraps of notation, who wrote the other stuff in the Sussmayer version, etc.

Then, in the late 1980s, Robert Levin was asked to do a new completion of the piece, and at first he refused, but finally he agreed. The result was the version of the Requiem that my chorus is performing next weekend at Harvard University (where Dr. Levin teaches). We are very hopeful that he'll be able to come to our concert! That would rule.

Anyway, he spoke to us on Saturday like I said, and it was really fascinating. I already knew a bit about Mozart and the history of this piece, but obviously Dr. Levin knows way more than little ole me, and he's a great speaker as well. Not everyone in our chorus is very knowledgeable about music in general, and he did a really good job of making the whole story understandable without "talking down" to us. He really seemed to enjoy being there and after his talk he chatted with a bunch of us and autographed our scores. It was pretty cool.

Other people on my friend-list are squeeing about Daniel Radcliffe and Orlando Bloom, and here's me hero-worshipping a 50-something musicologist you never heard of. Yep, that's the sound of my own drum I hear. March on!

Date: 2004-05-24 08:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Other people on my friend-list are squeeing about Daniel Radcliffe and Orlando Bloom, and here's me hero-worshipping a 50-something musicologist you never heard of.

I think that's utterly fabulous. :-D

Date: 2004-05-24 08:07 am (UTC)
xochiquetzl: Claudia from Warehouse 13 (Default)
From: [personal profile] xochiquetzl
Squee! Orlando Bloom! ;)

Seriously, it does sound interesting.

Date: 2004-05-24 08:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
I'm just realizing that Daniel Radcliffe is the kid who plays Harry Potter, right? Maybe I'm old and stodgy, but isn't it kind of icky to be squeeing over a kid who's like 13 or 14?

Date: 2004-05-24 08:53 am (UTC)
xochiquetzl: Claudia from Warehouse 13 (Default)
From: [personal profile] xochiquetzl
He just turned 15. Which means that in a year he will be legal in England, and he's already legal in Japan. 0_0

I think he's going to be a heartbreaker when he grows up. But for now, he is severely underaged, and I fear I am old and stodgy, too.

*tosses him back for another three years at least*

Date: 2004-05-24 09:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I'd been planning a separate post about that, actually. A lot of promo stills are coming out in advance of the movie, and on my friends-list I keep seeing people going "drool drool" over him, and he's FOURTEEN!!!!! I'm sorry, that is just not cool. *shuddershudder*

Date: 2004-05-25 09:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] millers-angel.livejournal.com
Other people on my friend-list are squeeing about Daniel Radcliffe and Orlando Bloom, and here's me hero-worshipping a 50-something musicologist you never heard of.

I get a similar feeling when I try to discuss with my co-works my fascination of Colonial House on PBS, and all they want to talk about is American Idol, Road Rules and Survivor.

Meh.

On another note - if I were 14, I would certainly get all squinchy about Mr. Radcliffe. However, as I am not, I am content to think that he would certainly be a fun teenager to hang out with - in a completely plutonic sort of way.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios