mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
[personal profile] mamajoan
It was a strange weekend. (Summary version: spent Saturday doing house stuff, went to science museum on Sunday to see Einstein exhibit.)

Here are a few of the weird/surreal things that happened in the past few days:

* Driving along back roads, saw a guy apparently out for a morning jog. With a small dog under his arm. ???

* Got back to my (soon-to-be-former) apartment after having left a message for prospective new tenant telling her I would be around for the afternoon if she and husband wanted to come see the place. As I pulled into my driveway, noticed a young woman, young man, and a few others coming out of the house next door, which I happen to know also has a vacant apartment. I got out of my car and called the name of the aforementioned prospective tenant. Sure enough, it was her. Looking at the apt next door. LOL, what are the odds?

* Arrived at my mom's place and went to get some stuff out of the trunk of my car. On the rear hood, found a little dead baby bird. :( My first thought was "Oh no! I hit it!" but then realized this was logically impossible. It probably fell out of its nest and my car happened to be underneath. Anyway, I made my mom deal with it, because I am lame. (But then I saved her the trouble by giving myself the lecture about how I'm a mom now and will have to deal with such things.)

* This morning, en route to daycare, driving along the offramp from the freeway, saw a deer. The offramp is surrounded by woods on both sides and the deer was standing at the edge of the woods, literally about five feet from the edge of the road I was on. Then he startled, and for one heart-stopping moment I thought he was going to jump right out in front of my car. But he wheeled and went back into the woods. Whew!!!

* And then there's the saga of the Virgin Mary, which really needs its own post -- coming soon to an LJ near you.

Date: 2004-05-10 09:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] algernon-mouse.livejournal.com
Yes. Avoid hitting deer at all costs...not just because of the whole Bambi factor...but it will total your car, and effectively the deer as well.

I swear, hitting these animals is like driving full steam ahead into a brick wall...and I promise you, there will be less damage hitting the wall.

Date: 2004-05-10 10:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
* This morning, en route to daycare, driving along the offramp from the freeway, saw a deer.

At least it wasn't a lion! :-)

Date: 2004-05-10 11:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
LOL, very true! And I'm thankful for that!

Date: 2004-05-10 10:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ww1614.livejournal.com
Whoa. Ken and Sophie went to the Museum of Science on Sunday, too.

Date: 2004-05-10 11:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
No way! I didn't see them. ;) You could have gone too, it was free for moms.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios