mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Blame [livejournal.com profile] mishaslair for inspiring me to do this... ;)

Isaac's recent milestones/activities:

Around early December he figured out how to reach out and grab things rather than having to wait for them to be placed in his hand. At first he would only reach with one hand at a time but by late Dec he had begun coordinating his two hands to manipulate objects.

In Jan he worked on sitting unassisted. Now he can sit for a very long period and doesn't usually topple over unless he tries to reach for something too far away (esp. to the side) or if something presses against his back (e.g. a pillow) he'll lean back onto it. (He can't yet get himself into a sitting position from prone.) Being able to sit by himself is a HUGE milestone in terms of his ability to entertain himself!! Now he can play with his toys, dropping them and picking them up again over and over, chattering at them the while. He doesn't need me to pick them up every time he drops them; he can experiment with gravity on his own. It's great. I can actually leave him there and do stuff!

So he experiments with reaching over to grab toys that are on the floor farther away from him. It's funny to watch him lean over and reach. But he's a little unclear on the concept of three dimensions; if he's on your lap and he drops a toy onto the floor, he'll try to lean over to grab it -- and if you don't hold onto him, he WILL lean all the way over until he falls off your lap. (He hasn't done this yet, but he's come close.) Because he can sit up now, he is also discovering his feet. They are fascinating. He tries to grab them; I'm not sure whether he realizes they are attached to him.

He's also been babbling a lot. He loves to blow raspberries, and he says "da" (not "dada"). It's so cute. I hold him up to my face and say very slowly and clearly, "mmmaaa mmmaaa." He watches my lips closely, and then laughs. He thinks "mama" is hilarious. :) BTW, it's common for babies to say "da" before "ma" because it's an easier sound to make.

In the past week or so he has finally begun to show an inkling that maybe there are things you can do with toys *other* than put them in your mouth. He is beginning to shake his toys to make them rattle, and bang them together or on the table/highchair tray. He sometimes bangs them against his body too. He does this hilarious thing where he puts a toy (the kind that's a plastic ring with key-shaped rattly bits attached) in his mouth, then whacks it with his hands to make it rattle. It cracks me up. :)

He also appears to be teething these last few days. Excessive drooling, crankiness, chewing on things even more than usual. No sign of any actual teeth yet, but I hope it's soon. Poor little guy. Also, he's sleeping badly, which means *I'm* sleeping badly. alas.

Eating-wise, things are getting much better. He now takes bottles at daycare, totaling usually 6-8 ounces per day in several small feedings (plus I still go over and nurse him once/day). This is less than some babies eat, but it's more than he WAS eating so I'm happy. I pump about 8-10oz/day so I'm keeping up. He's also eating some solid foods: rice cereal and a few fruits/veggies (pureed/jarred). He likes the fruits better so far but has not had a great variety yet so it's hard to say. (He really hated the peas the first three days but yesterday he apparently ate them with gusto.) As is normal, some days he wolfs down his foods, other days he won't have anything to do with them. Breastmilk is still supposed to be his main source of nutrition until age 1 anyway, so it's all good. He usually wants to nurse a long time when we get home from daycare.

He had also been napping better, until this teething thing started up. It turns out that he just doesn't like his crib at home; he naps fine in the bed. The daycare people had told me that they just put him down in his crib and he just goes to sleep, and I didn't believe it till I saw it. It's true! I was boggled! Now he sometimes does this for me too! I still can hardly believe it.

Last Friday, I picked Isaac up from daycare early and took him to the office to see coworkers. They hadn't seen him in about 2 months and everyone was delighted to see him. Everyone was like "OMG he's so big!" and wanted to hold him. it was very gratifying. One coworker said I should bring him in every Friday. :)

Anyway, that's about it for the Isaac update. If I realize I forgot anything crucial, I'll be posting again... ;)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios