mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
So it turns out I might have asthma. Eh, that kind of sucks. It could be worse though. And after all these years of tendinitis, lower-back trouble, and bunions, it's nice to have an ailment that actually can be effectively treated with drugs! Anyway, I have to go in again next week and see an asthma nurse and take some kind of complicated test. Meanwhile, I have an inhaler to try. This should be interesting. Sigh.

I also got a tetanus booster shot, so now my arm is all sore. :P I'm thinking of skipping the gym tonight, because of that, and because it would be nice to get home in time to eat something before I go next door for game night. (That's card and board games, not anything crazy like RPGs.)

On the bright side, my blood pressure is nice and low. Well, that's a plus. The doctor did suggest I go in at some point for a cholesterol test too. You know, the one where you have to fast for twelve hours beforehand. I'm in no rush to do that! My cholesterol was fine the last time I had it checked, anyway.

So now everyone I know who has asthma (which is quite a few people) is rushing to give me all kinds of advice, and/or tell me their horror stories. With friends like these... ;)

Date: 2002-01-11 01:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
The trick with that cholesterol fasting thing is to schedule it for early in the morning (say 8 or 9) and then you eat a nice dinner the night before and you're fine. One might ask why they bothered checking my cholesterol, given that I've been vegetarian since I was 5 and am close to vegan now, but to answer that would require an understanding of the HMO Mind, and I don't have one.

Date: 2002-01-11 02:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Yeah, I forgot to mention to the doctor that I'm a vegetarian. I don't know whether it would have made a difference to her recommendation. I figure it can't hurt to get my cholesterol tested, anyway; despite being a veggie I do eat pretty badly, lots and lots of fat. But fatty foods are just so damn yummy!

Date: 2002-01-11 03:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
You know they just found out that people can taste fat (duh) just like we taste sweet and sour and bitter and salty. So fat really does taste yummy!

Date: 2003-02-26 03:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] retch.livejournal.com
Heh, responding to old journal entries, now this starts playing with the entire concept of the posts being grounded in a moment in time. Assuming you have email notifications on so you even know that I've responded here...

Anyhow, if you come out to cali, we've got a D&D campaign that loves guest players. :) Oh yeah, we play those crazy card and boardgames too. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios