mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Overall Isaac is doing well, despite the cold that he currently has. I did mention how he got sent home from daycare last week with a 101 fever, right? Over the weekend he seemed to get better, but then yesterday and today he seemed to get a little worse again. He's very congested, lots of sneezing and coughing, and when we lie down together at night, he has trouble breathing because of the congestion, which means he has trouble sleeping, which means *I* have trouble sleeping. Also, I caught the cold from him, so my throat feels like sandpaper and I'm even more tired and achy than usual.

After the first two days at daycare when he took the bottle easily, he has given them a lot of trouble about it. There have been days when, by the time I get over there at 12:30 or 1 (I go over on my lunch break to nurse him), he's screaming from hunger and the dc teachers are tearing their metaphorical hair out. On the hopeful side, though, they seem to have found a new type of bottle/nipple that he likes better than the ones I had. It's the kind where you get a disposable liner that drops into the bottle; one of the other moms gave the dc teachers a huge bag of them because her kid refused them, so they gave them to me. I guess the nipples on those bottles feel more like real nipples, or something; anyway, I'm very hopeful that things will start improving, Isaac-taking-the-bottle-wise, once we start using these bottles consistently. Thinking that he's going to starve himself at daycare has been a big source of stress for me.

Anyway, but other than that he's doing great. He is growing fast and learning new skills. He can almost sit up by himself now -- can sit unsupported for a few seconds before he topples over. He is also getting a LOT better at reaching for toys that are dangled or hung over or in front of him. His sleeping patterns, knock furiously on wood, are slowly improving; he wakes less frequently at night now, which is GREAT for me, and also for him because he's better rested. He's also showing a lot more interest in the cats, watching them intently whenever they come into his view. And he's showing interest in people eating; when I eat, he watches very closely as my hand moves from the bowl or plate to my mouth. This is supposedly one of the major signs that your baby is ready to start eating solids and "real people food." He has his 6-month checkup next week, so I'll be asking the pediatrician whether she thinks I should start him on solids. I'm betting she'll say yes.

He's also a lot less fussy and cry-y, in general. People who meet him now, as opposed to two or three months ago, always comment on how mellow and easy-going he is. This makes me sad for people like my friends Laura and Ariana, or even [livejournal.com profile] plaidder, who met him in his more "difficult" stages. They should come visit again and see him being all charming and happy!

Anyway, that's the basic story on my little guy. I'll also have new pictures fairly soon. Meanwhile, have I mentioned that I posted his birth story on his website? Cuz, um, I did. And you could go read it and stuff. :) It's even longer than this post! ;)

Date: 2003-12-18 12:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
I like his website, and the birth story! I don't like when birth stories seem designed to freak out mothers-to-be, I'd rather have one like that that admits that there's pain and ick, but doesn't obsess over it. hey, possibly TMI question, did they give you an enema at the hospital?

Date: 2003-12-18 01:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
LOL, no. If I had had an enema, you can be sure it would be described in excruciating detail in the birth story. ;)

There is a fair amount that I left out, simply because the damn thing was getting SO long (and I had been writing it for, what, six months now), but no major procedures like that were omitted. ;)

Date: 2003-12-19 10:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Yeah, I figured you wouldn't have left that out, but I keep hearing from people that you *have* to get and enema or Bad Things will happen. Whatever, I figured they were full of hooey, and you have confirmed that.

Date: 2003-12-19 12:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
My impression is that the enema, like the telling you not to eat for 24 hours before your due date (which they don't do any more but did in my mom's day), was more for the doctors' and nurses' sake than yours or your baby's. That is, it was meant to prevent the medical staff from having to deal with your waste products during delivery. Nowadays, I think they're a bit more understanding about that.

TMI Alert: Also, many/most women have diarrhea just before they go into true labor, so there shouldn't be a lot left in there anyway.

Putting in an IV is another thing that is commonly done in hospitals, by routine, but may not actually be necessary. I would advise anyone who was pregnant and planning to deliver in a hospital to find out about this in advance and make sure the hospital staff knows that you don't want an IV unless it's REALLY necessary. Also, drink a LOT of water in the last trimester, because dehydration is the most frequently cited cause for putting in the IV.
[/ramble]

Date: 2003-12-18 12:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sydb42.livejournal.com
A friend of mine had a baby who wouldn't take the bottle either, but since she rarely left him with anyone for any length of time, she didn't know this. So, her mom took the kids (this was her second) for the weekend so she and her husband could have some couple time. The baby wouldn't drink from a bottle all weekend, so her mom ended up feeding the baby via cup, which he would "drink" from (not sippy cup, as far as I know, but a regular cup). That's quite a dedicated grandmommy to try that instead of just calling the parents home. :) As far as I know, that kid never would take the first bottle.

Feeding from a cup will take more effort, but it's an option, I suppose, if the daycare is willing to try it. Hopefully the new bottles will work out well though.

Date: 2003-12-18 01:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Yeah, we've tried that too. [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen had moderate luck getting him to drink from the cup when he was in her care, but the daycare people claim they had no luck. I don't know how diligently they tried, since it's messier and more difficult, but they do claim that they tried and didn't succeed with it.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios