milestones

Jul. 30th, 2003 11:14 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Last night, for the first time, I spent the night alone with Isaac in my apartment. No mom or friends to take a feeding or even just to hold him for a while so I could rest.

It actually went surprisingly well, especially considering how bad a day yesterday was and how exhausted I was. I just kept him in the bed with me, and when he got hungry I just popped the boob in his mouth and all was well. He really likes to nurse lying down like that, especially because, when he's finished, he likes to lay his head on my boob like a pillow and go to sleep. :) So it was a fairly calm night, I got a few periods of sleep one or one-and-a-half hours long, and I felt better this morning.

Then I had my midwife six-week checkup (it's actually been seven weeks, whatever) and that went fine too, although the Pap smear was uncomfortable, but you know, that's life. And now we're back at my place, ready to feed the baby, feed the mommy, and then pack up and go back to my mom's. Will the adventures never end? ;)

happy first night home!

Date: 2003-07-30 08:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rupie-zum.livejournal.com
the adventures will just get bigger and better. :)

Date: 2003-07-30 06:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcroswench.livejournal.com
Make sure you don't fall asleep with him in the bed with you! O.O

And gratz on your first day alone. :)
wench

Date: 2003-07-31 09:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Actually, falling asleep with him in the bed is kind of the whole point. It's called "co-sleeping" and lots of parents are doing it nowadays. Sometimes it's the only way for both mom and baby to get any rest!

Date: 2003-07-31 10:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcroswench.livejournal.com
...



You're the Mommy so of course it's up to you, but over here it's not encouraged because of how often it ends tragically for baby.

My parents did the same with us (5 lol) and we all survived (despite their attempts? ;) ) so take it as you will.

wench

Date: 2003-07-31 10:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcroswench.livejournal.com
Ack, rereading my posts and all apologies if they sound like I'm trying to boss your Mom-style around. :( I just worry too much and this is one of many reasons I'll never be a mom. Please ignore the muttering wench. :)

Can't wait to see more picks of you and Issac. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios