Jan. 2nd, 2008

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Belatedly, welcome to 2008 everyone. I must say that, unlike many of y'all on my flist, I was sorry to see 2007 go. It was good to me. A year ago today I was starting to quietly panic after more than four months on unemployment, with the money about to run out and no job prospects on the horizon. And now? I'm making more money than I would have believed, working at a great place with great people; the kids are fantastic, I'm getting some reading done, and even starting to think about maybe some writing and other "me" stuff. So what's to complain about? ;) Oh...I'll find something. ;) But still, things have been pretty darn good, is my point.

I'm sooooo far behind on updating and can't even really think about it right now. So I'll start off slow with some bullet points.

* As of today I have a new coworker named Ruth. I foresee some confusion on my part. ;)

* Isaac slept over at grandma's house last night. It was weird. Ruthie kept asking about him, and had a hard time going to sleep, possibly due to his absence, possibly for unrelated reasons. This morning when we were getting ready to leave, she kept saying "ah-goo! bama!" ("Isaac! Grandma!") and I think she thought we were going to Grandma's house to retrieve our "ah-goo." hee hee.

* Ruthie has started saying her name. It sounds like "oatie" or "oh-dee." I moved the changing table, so now she can see herself in the mirror when she's lying on it, and she will say "oh-dee!" and then "choo-choo!" because she can also see Isaac's new train calendar. (Ruthie can't say the beginning R on words that start with R, hence "oh-tee" for her name, and at dinnertime she often seems to be saying "more ass!" ("more rice!"). hee hee.)

* I started looking at digital cameras in the post-xmas sales, and after reading a million and three reviews, I think I am slowly narrowing it down to the Canon PowerShot SD 800. Mind you, this doesn't mean I'm actually going to buy it, necessarily. I'm just looking at the moment. Looking, and drooling. ;)

* Very, very soon (i.e., this month), I am going to have to start thinking about kindergarten. KINDERGARTEN!!! OMFG. I am so not ready. But there are open houses this month and enrollment begins, like, now. I have to pick a school for Isaac and try to get him enrolled in it. I have no clue how all of this works, but I know it is going to be a major source of stress (and a major topic of LJ posts) for me for the foreseeable future. You have been warned.

uh, that's enough for now; more later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
OK, here goes the catching-up attempt....

in which I attempt to sum up the events of the past week in as few sentences as possible )

Anyway, that's the bare-bones version because I'll probably never get around to the more detailed version. though you never know.

Last night's dream is mostly lost to the mists of time but I do remember that part of it involved a bunch of my coworkers being in a piano class where basically everyone has a keyboard and they all sit and watch the instructor play and they try to play along. I and one other coworker were standing outside the room where this was taking place, and we looked in the door and saw what was going on and agreed that it seemed horrible, LOL.

Also, over the break I read two books, both of which were advance review copies of not-yet-published books, which I got through LibraryThing.com's Early Reviewers program. details with mini-reviews )

Anyway, those two books bring the total on my "Read in 2007" tag to 34 books, which I think is quite impressive given my, uh, lifestyle, or whatever you'd call it. Go me.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios