Mar. 6th, 2007

mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
So much going on, so little time or motivation to post.

Well, fortunately Ruthie's second bout of RSV was much milder than the first. By Saturday morning she was mostly fine except a lingering wet cough, so I did leave her with mom and go off to the Chocolate Buffet. Note to self: next time eat some actual food first...! Sadly [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd had to bail on the chocolate due to their own and Baz's illness(es). So it was a smaller group than planned, but we still had fun and [livejournal.com profile] radegund_lj proved how well she knows me ;)

Alas, though, even before the Buffet, I could feel the onset of that scratchy-throat feeling that means I'm getting sick. And it was worse on Sunday and Monday. I feel somewhat better today but not much. :P Man, it has been a terrible winter for illness! I think this like the fourth time I've been sick and a similar number for Ruthie. I blame Purell and amoxycillin, but let's not go there right now. ;)

The work itself continues to be interesting and challenging, but all the other stuff around the job (logistics, etc.) continues to be just awful. Several times now I've ended up parking in the lot across the street from the office ($22 for the day, ouch!) after ages of circling around looking for a spot. This cannot continue. The circling is hard on me physically as well as mentally, and the $22 is just outrageous (even though I'm pretty sure I can take it as a tax deduction). The bottleneck here is still the Ruthie childcare situation, or lack thereof. I have an appt on Friday to visit an in-home daycare that is absolutely perfect in terms of location, quite reasonable on price, and has an opening. I just hope I don't hate it. Sigh. If I like it but don't love it, it'll be a pretty difficult decision. Anyway, we'll see how that goes.

I really can't believe that Ruthie will be a whole year old in just a couple of weeks. It's incredible the way these things happen. This morning at preschool dropoff, there was another mom whose baby is now 3 months old and today was to be the mom's first day back at work (and the baby's first day in daycare). I expressed my deepest sympathies and the mom seemed appreciative. She said that with her first (the one who goes to preschool now, obviously) she couldn't wait to get back to work, but this time around, it's just too soon. I said that was exactly how I had felt too....

Oh, and something a little odd. On Sunday, for no discernable reason, while I was sitting around feeling like utter crap and Isaac was largely entertaining himself, I had a sudden urge to tie-dye something. Wackiness ensued. With bonus kidlet picspam! )



I believe I shall try tie-dying again in the near future, with actual dyes! In my copious free time! Because just what I need is a new hobby that costs money and makes a huge mess! ;) But it's fun dammit! Okay. I am insane.

addendum

Mar. 6th, 2007 03:32 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (piglet sigh)
I forgot to add on my last post that I'm so tired lately, it is definitely time to go see my doctor and get my thyroid levels re-checked. The only reason I haven't done that yet is that I have yet to get my health insurance stuff straightened out.

(I called Neighborhood Health (the insurer that provides my current free health insurance via MassHealth/Medicaid) and asked whether I could simply switch from Neighborhood-via-MassHealth to Neighborhood-that-I-pay-for-myself. Alas, of course it's not that simple. They said I have to tell them what day my MassHealth benefits end, and send them a check for the first month's worth of coverage along with my application, and then they start my new coverage on the day that my MassHealth ends. So I had to call MassHealth and ask them to cancel me. The guy insisted on running a calculation to see whether I would still be eligible, even though I assured him that at my current income there's no way I'll be eligible for free healthcare. Then he tells me I have to call a different number to cancel my coverage, and that number is only open until 3pm. Of course it was already 3:20 by that time.)

Anyway, with luck that'll get resolved quickly (ha ha) so I can go get the bloodwork done. Or I suppose I could do it before I call MassHealth back, although that seems a little dishonest. I don't know.

I keep telling myself that I have a zillion perfectly rational reasons to be tired, like, you know, just started a new job, getting up earlier in the mornings, lots of various stress sources, not sleeping through the night...not to mention the huge physical drain that breastfeeding represents. But at the same time, they did tell me that I should get my thyroid levels checked again at 6 months postpartum, and here I am almost twice that and haven't done it yet. And this kind of crushing exhaustion at the end of each day is just so difficult to deal with. Wouldn't it be so nice if I could just solve it all by taking an extra pill. Bleah.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios