Mar. 2nd, 2007

mamajoan: me in hammock (lol!)
Thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ima_omi for posting a cute thing that her 3-year-old said, and reminding me that I needed to post a couple of cute things my 3-year-old has said recently. :)

This one's from just last night.
Me: What should we put in your lunchbox for tomorrow?
Isaac: The same things I usually have: an egg, a banana, and fish crackers [goldfish].
Me: ah, well, we're all out of fish crackers.
Isaac: Why?
Me: Why, because you ate them all up and I haven't gone to the store to get more yet.
Isaac: Why didn't you get fish crackers at your new work?
Me: Because my new work isn't a store that sells food. It's an office.
Isaac: Is it like this? (random spiral-y hand gestures)
Me: Um...I guess you could say that.
Isaac: Oh. Okay.

And another one from a week or so ago.
Isaac: (asked for some food item)
Me: I'm sorry sweetie, we don't have any.
Isaac: (frustrated scream)
Me: I'm very sorry that you're upset, but screaming about it isn't going to help.
Isaac: Yes it is!
Me: No, it really isn't.
Isaac: Well, I'm sorry to tell you this, mama, but it IS going to help.

Also, one day last week my mom kindly offered to pick up Ruthie from the babysitter's for me, and she took Isaac along, and apparently mom ran a yellow/red light and got pulled over. Luckily she only got a warning, not a ticket. But the next day, the very first thing Isaac did when I dropped him off at preschool was announce to his teachers, "Did you know that there was a red light and grandma didn't stop! And the policeman said, 'when there's a red light, you have to stop!'" LOL. And then the next time *I* ran a yellow light, Isaac called me on it! *facepalm* Nothing escapes that kid, I tell ya. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This week, my first full week at the new job, I actually got some work done. I reached a point of (still rudimentary, but decent) understanding of the product we're working with, enough so that I could talk semi-intelligently about what we need to do with the documentation. I found that the process of drawing up an outline of how the doc is currently organized helped me to both gain greater understanding of the product, but also see how it should be organized. So then I was able to draw up a revised outline to propose. That was neat, kind of like solving a puzzle.

However, by about 4pm today, I could almost literally feel my brain shut down from overload and exhaustion. I've felt the rush of tiredness hit me every day, usually right when I leave the office (adrenaline wearing off I guess), but today it was earlier. I did something I never do, which is have a second cup of caffeine (tea) right around 4:30, thinking I might need it just to get through the evening. Of course, now I'm regretting that, as I knew I probably would. Sigh.

And now it seems that Ruthie has RSV. AGAIN!! Ugh. I am soooooo over this crap. I knew she would get it when I picked her up yesterday and the nanny told me that her son has it. I was hoping it would give us a miss, but no such luck. Ruthie did several things she never does, namely falling asleep in the sling, and falling asleep in the evening before Isaac was in bed. She slept in the sling the entire time I was getting Isaac ready for bed, which, if you knew her, really proves that she's sick. Sigh.

On the bright side, it doesn't seem to be quite as bad as it was last time. She's not completely listless; she actually showed some interest in toys and food. I spoke to the doctor and told her that we still have the albuterol inhaler from last time, and she said to go ahead and give it, and call her in the morning. I REALLY hope we get a good night's sleep and Ruthie is much much better in the morning. I hope this, of course, because I don't like to see my baby sick. But I also hope this because we have a reservation for the Chocolate Buffet tomorrow and I really, really, really, really, really, really, really don't want to have to miss it :( nor to go but spend the entire time feeling guilty about abandoning my sick baby.

Anyway, so obviously we should be in bed now, but we aren't, because, see above re: extra caffeine. Ruthie's still sleeping in the sling as I type this. I don't think there's any way in heck that I'm going to be able to get myself out of this bra without putting her down, heh. I'm not THAT limber. Maybe I'll just sleep in my bra. sigh.

I know this will sound terrible, but...I really hope Ruthie isn't going to be one of those kids who are just constantly getting sick. :(

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios