Aug. 30th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
"While the Red Sox are disappointed to lose David Wells for six games, the Club recognizes that the disciplinary process has run its course, and we accept the results. However, the comments made by David today regarding the Commissioner of Baseball do not in any way reflect the views of the Club. The Club believes the Commissioner has demonstrated visionary leadership and integrity, and we recognize that his contributions to the game have been enormous. Thus, we apologize to the Commissioner."

-- Official statement from the Red Sox, as quoted here
Are you FUCKING KIDDING ME??? "Visionary leadership and integrity"??? JESUS. How much farther up Selig's shriveled disgusting ass can the Sox ownership stick themselves? Oh my GOD. I think I'm going to fucking throw up. "Visionary leadership." JESUS.

Listen, I'm no huge David Wells fan either, but by now everyone knows that the man likes to shoot off his mouth. Who fucking cares? Why is it the team's problem to "apologize" for what he says? The Red Sox are not David Wells's mother for fuck's sake. And he is not a rebellious teenager. He's a grown man who can take responsibility for his own actions and words. But even so -- even if the team does feel the need to apologize -- the sucking up to the commissioner is SO freaking unnecessary. Give me a FUCKING break.

"Visionary leadership and integrity." My ASS. Where the hell have the Sox bigwigs BEEN the last couple of years? 'Cause if they've found another planet, an alternate reality where Bud Selig is a visionary, I so fucking want to move there.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Birthday not-really-update: Happy birthday [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen!!

Election update: Last week I posted a rant about a special election being held today that I hadn't seen any literature about. Then last Saturday the Boston Globe ran an article about it, including profiles of the candidates, and descriptions of all the intense campaigning they've been doing. Apparently they've been wearing their feet to the bones walking up and down every street except the one I live on. Whatever. Anyway, this morning I did my civic duty and voted. And now I'm contemplating a letter to the person I voted for (who is my current state Representative) or possibly to the Globe. Or more likely I'll let it drop and continue to seethe in resentment.

Car update: After voting, this morning Isaac and I took a spin by the body shop and signed papers saying that yes, I do in fact wish them to fix my car, plzkthxbi. Amusingly, just as we were exiting the office and getting back into my mom's car, the tow truck drove up with our car. So we said a bittersweet hello and goodbye to our car, and went off in mom's. I doubt they'll have my car fixed in time for the weekend, but at least I know they have it and will be working on it!

Sleep update: Last night was pretty good. It's kind of sad that I now use the term "pretty good" to refer to a night when Isaac woke up at 5am. *sigh* But at least he went to sleep fairly easily, only requiring one re-visit and that a quick one; and after he woke at 5, I took him into my bed and explained, with copious usage of the f-word*, that it was not yet time to be awake; and we both went back to sleep until almost 8.
* it's really kind of amazing that I haven't heard that word out of his mouth yet. I'm sure it will happen at the most embarrassing moment possible, when we're in public somewhere, surrounded by like a group of Mormons or something. On second thought, it's not like the Mormons will need any more reason to think I'm a terrible mother.

Pregnancy update: There actually is no pregnancy update, except that since I'm telling people at work, there's not much reason to continue friend-locking my pregnancy posts here any more. So, in case anyone's reading this who isn't on my friend-list and doesn't already know, uh, I'm pregnant. Eight weeks as of today! And speaking of telling people, it's kind of funny how dense some men can be. ;) Also, none of them seem to realize that they should be saying "congratulations." It's probably a lack-of-social-skills thing, I guess. Serves me right for working with geeks.

Weather update: I cannot actually complain about the oodles of rain we're having today, because, well, at least it's just rain! If anyone who reads this is near the hurricane-affected areas, well, I hope you're okay. Anyway, we *are* having a lot of rain today, which is mostly fine with me except at commute time. But I hope it clears up in time/enough for the Sox to play their game tonight -- speaking of which:

Red Sox update: I ended up calling my friend M and offering her my ticket for tonight's game, in exchange for her babysitting next Tuesday while I go to that game. She went for it, so if the weather deities permit, she and my mom will be at the game tonight. If there is a game. We all hope there will be, because it's getting to the end of the season and there really isn't any available time in which to schedule a make-up game. That's why last night's game went past midnight with a what, two-hour rain delay in the midst of it? Man am I glad I wasn't at that one. ([livejournal.com profile] skreeky was, but she was getting paid for it at least ... plus she doesn't have a 2-year-old at home.)

I have nothing but admiration for the fans who stuck it out; that would have been me once upon a time, but unfortunately these days when I've left Isaac with a babysitter I wouldn't feel right hanging around for hours, knowing that the game could even get canceled. Sucks. I sure hope that the remnants of Katrina have finished blowing through by next Tuesday, so I won't have to deal with that. Stupid rain.

Guess that's all my updates for now. Stay tuned for a forthcoming "ways in which Isaac is cute" post, something I've not done in a woefully long time.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
OK, I don't actually have the energy to write a whole "state of the Isaac" post as I was intending, so I'll just give this anecdote, and then some pix.

Tonight we were driving home and I asked Isaac if he wanted spaghetti for dinner. He replied, "sing the spaghetti song!" Now, he often says "sing the ____ song" randomly, and often I don't know what the heck song he means. So I said, "I don't know any spaghetti song." But then I realized, yes I do. So I sang, "On top of spagheeeeeetti, all covered with cheese, I lost my poor meatball, when somebody sneezed." And then Isaac said something which I at first didn't understand. But then I realized! He said "achoo"! LOL!!!

I didn't think he actually knew that spaghetti song, but apparently they must sing it at daycare. :) hee hee.

I have been woefully neglectful of taking pictures of Isaac the last couple months! I swear when you look at how many pix I was taking, and then the sudden dropoff ... years from now people are going to say, "did someone kidnap your child in July '05?" Or something. Anyway, to rectify this I took some tonight, but first here's one from our trip to Kansas City last month. Isaac eating a cupcake:



Mmmmm ... cupcake!!

And here are some brand-new pix from tonight, including Isaac eating the aforementioned spaghetti. )

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios