Aug. 10th, 2005

unlocking

Aug. 10th, 2005 10:36 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I realized there was no real need to friend-lock my post from yesterday about my coworker who's leaving. So I unlocked it, and you can go read it if you want, if you aren't on my flist and/or didn't see it yesterday. The short version is that one of my favorite coworkers is leaving to move across the country to work for Google. And I'm sad. Snif.

I'm also sad that the nice woman whose home we stayed at in Kansas City over the weekend seems to have given me her cold. :P Just a scratchy throat right now, but the kind that kept waking me up last night, sigh.

On the plus side, Isaac slept in this morning! Of course, by "slept in" I mean that he woke up at what used to be his normal waking time until recently; but (I can't remember whether I've mentioned) over the last couple of months he had started waking a LOT earlier, for no discernable reason. So I was happy that he slept in this morning, even though I spent most of the extra hour lying in bed awake thinking, "was that him I heard? no ... was that him? Is he dead?" LOL. Oh well.

I thought Isaac might have a hard time re-adjusting to daycare after more than a week away, but apparently not! Yesterday and today both, he was quite happy to jump right in and start playing, with a cheery "Bye-bye mama!" to see me out the door. Whew.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I feel like I should make a post at this point, but I have nothing to say. So here's a post to say that I have nothing to say.

Would you like to hear some whining about how I don't want to cook in this heat and there's nothing to eat at home and I can't afford takeout so I don't know what we're going to have for dinner tonight? Oh, you wouldn't? Okay then. Never mind.
mamajoan: me in hammock (my fandom)
So there was this big Buffy wankfest today, and [livejournal.com profile] ww1614 posted that it made her nostalgic for Buffy fandom. And I guess it did me too, a little.

And it reminded me that the other night I had a dream in which I decided it would be a great idea to write a Buffy/Giles sexfic set after the end of the series. It even had the beginnings of the plot laid out (in the dream) although then it did take a bit of a detour into a weird subplot about a woman with three little boys and swimming in the lake at the cottage and trying to light a match to summon a new Slayer. I'm not sure what that was all about, although water does symbolize sex in Freud (then again, what doesn't?).

But my point, and I do have one, sorta, is that I am not going to write Buffy/Giles, regardless of what my subconscious likes to think. Anyway, I probably ought to watch the last season of "Angel" first, because I understand it involved Buffy at some point. I hate writing fic without having seen all the available canon. Uh, not that I'm going to write the fic or anything. Did I mention, not going to write it? Nuh-uh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios