Jul. 28th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OMG! The humidity has broken (at least temporarily) and it's only 68 degrees right now! Whew!

Don't get me wrong, I like hot weather, but DAMN. We have been having WAY too much of it, with the really high humidity. Yesterday when I left the office, my glasses fogged over.

I was going to type about the thunderstorms last night, which were awesome, but Isaac's making trouble. ;) More later....
mamajoan: me in hammock (piglet sigh)
ARGH! Just when I think it's safe to look at my finances again....

Here are the latest two annoyances.

The months-old property tax thing comes back to bite me in the ass )

Not really a resolution of the dentist issue )

Man, maybe I better go back to bed now before anything else happens.
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
Isaac's mystery rash, which I posted about in this post last week, has almost completely cleared up. Its origins and nature remain a mystery though. I gave him a bath over the weekend and used the same soap on him that I always use, and the same after-bath lotion, and the rash got neither worse nor better immediately after that, so it wasn't that. I did buy some "dye-free, color-free," etc. laundry detergent and washed a bunch of his clothes in it, but I didn't keep track of which clothes had been washed in that vs. our old detergent when I dressed him, so I kind of doubt it was that either.

In retrospect, I think that what might have happened is that I dumped out a bucketful of dirty water and PineSol in the tub, after washing the kitchen floor; and then I rinsed out the tub with plain water and then gave Isaac a bath in it the next day. So maybe there was still some PineSol clinging to the tub and causing the rash.

Or heck, maybe it was viral as the doctor suggested. Who knows?! It's gone, and I just hope it doesn't come back.
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Grooooooan!

I finally found out why mortgage chick hasn't returned my three messages since June. It turns out she's on short-term disability leave. *facepalm*

I still say they should have had someone monitoring her phone messages or SOMETHING, for fuck's sake, but that's a side point right now. So I'm on hold with another cust-supp person to whom I am valiantly trying to explain this mess. Cross your fingers for me.
mamajoan: me in hammock (d'oh scorpius)
You know you're having a bad mama moment when ... you find yourself looking for your child's birth certificate ... in the porn box.

*facepalm*

In my defense, I didn't really think it was there! I was just looking around for another box to look in, having exhausted the other possibilities, and "oh look, there's another box." And halfway through opening it, "wait, this is the porn box, duh." And yet, I still opened it and glanced inside.

Brain? What is brain?

Anyway, the whereabouts of Isaac's birth certificate remain unknown at this time. But I'm not panicking! Not yet! I still have a whole week to find it before we need it for the airport!

I have a feeling that when we were moving into this house (over a year ago!) I said to myself, "I'll put his birth certificate here, where it'll be safe for the move." Oh, it's safe all right! TOO SAFE! Argh.

I am lame. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oops, thanks [livejournal.com profile] techn0goddess for pointing out that I never said what happened with the mortgage people. Well, nothing happened. They couldn't get hold of the city tax people so they said they'd call me back when they do. *sigh* *roll eyes*

I did tell the woman how annoyed I was that the other woman was on leave and no one was apparently monitoring her voicemail. She was all surprised and apologized numerous times, although whether she's going to actually do anything about it, who knows. Oh well.
mamajoan: me in hammock (the bird 2)
So, in case you haven't heard, there's a bit of flap over whether Dubya actually flipped the bird to a bunch of reporters while leaving a conference. You can see the video here.

And the transcript of the White House daily press conference that followed is here. The relevant bit:
Q Scott, last night on the Tonight Show, Jay Leno, who apparently is subbing for Johnnie, displayed a video of the President at the Capitol yesterday. In that video, the President walking away from the press lifts his hand and raises a finger. Mr. Leno interpreted it as, shall we say, a finger of hostility. Each of our fingers has a special purpose and meaning in life. (Laughter.) Can you tell us what finger it was he held up?

MR. McCLELLAN: Ken, I'm not even going to dignify that with much of a response. But if someone is misportraying something, that's unfortunate.

Q Well, it was not a finger of hostility?

MR. McCLELLAN: Ken, I was there with him, and I'm just not going to -- I'm not going to dignify that with a response. I mean, I haven't seen the video that you're talking about, but I know the way the President acts. And if someone is misportraying it, that's unfortunate.
OMG, first of all? Whoever that reporter is, I want to marry him. Or at least kiss him. This "a special purpose and meaning in life" is a thing of beauty, but it pales in comparison to the thing of awe and wonder that is "a finger of hostility." OMG. I love that phrase. It gives me a happy. ROTFL!

Oh, and P.S.: Our president is a dickhead, and that is NOT a thumb.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios