Mar. 9th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
Via [livejournal.com profile] maggiesox comes this tale of extreme stupidity and extreme cold -- two things that really should not mix. I especially like the part about how he "didn't really know that there was any place on Earth that could be so cold and so inhospitable" because he had never experienced temps below 50F. OMG!! Any of y'all Californians reading this should be ashamed to be associated with this moron.

I'm sick and tired of posting on my LJ that I'm sick and tired of winter weather. ;P This is really getting ridiculous. Today's predicted high temp is 28F, which is only 4 degrees higher than the lowest-ever high temp recorded for this date. When I left the house this morning it was 11F outside, with a windchill of "what the fuck is this shit, it's fucking March for fuck's sake!" ARGH.

The snow itself wasn't all that bad. There really wasn't that much snow last night, but there was a lot of wind, which blew the snow all around and made it look like a lot more than it was. I was SO glad to get home when we did, before the wind really started up. All night you could hear the wind howling, the house shuddering and creaking, the heating system clanking and groaning as it struggled to keep up. (Note to self: check oil tank levels tonight.)

Anyway, the plus side of all the wind was that there was essentially no snow atop my car this morning; it had all been blown off. If not for the plows shoving a bit of snow up against my car on the street side, I wouldn't even have had to shovel -- as it was, I only had to do a few shovelfuls to clear off the two street-side wheels. So it was no biggie, and the drive to work was fine.

Isaac had a lot of trouble going to sleep again last night. :( He was very congested despite his humidifier and some Vicks Vapo-Rub, so I'm trying to tell myself that it's just a cold and it's not that we're headed into another three-month period of nightly bedtime struggles. :( Then this morning he wouldn't wake up until I made a whole lot of noise, so he wound up sleeping late, which I hope won't screw up his sleep schedule even more. On the bright side, when he did get up, he was very cheery.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I finally updated Isaac's website with pages for Oct, Nov, Dec, and Jan. I thought I had done Oct already, but it turns out that I added it to the old index page, which doesn't come up any more, so it wasn't really added. Anyway, it's there now!

Isaac's Website

Man, I am a menace with that camera. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
(I think I'm just going to have to stop posting about the sleep situation. It just totally makes me nervous that I'm jinxing myself, every time. Yes, I am that superstitious.)

For a while now Isaac has been really into having songs sung to him. He would go "song, song," and I would be like, "what song do you want?" but he didn't know how to say, so he would just keep saying "song" and then I would start singing a song and he would whimper because it wasn't the right one. So I would get annoyed (or mock-annoyed) and tell him that if he doesn't tell me what song he wants, he has to listen to whatever song I choose to sing. So there! ;)

He showed me. He learned how to ask for songs. ;)

So now he says:
  • "Song do-do-doodle" for Yankee Doodle
  • "Baa baa seep" for Baa Baa Black Sheep
  • "Song ducky song" for Rubber Ducky
  • "Farmer" for BINGO ("There was a farmer had a dog..." and the little-known second verse "There was a mama had a boy...")
  • "Song donald" for Old McDonald
I really need some new songs. ;) I do sing others besides the above, but those are his favorites that he'll want to hear again and again.

Oh, another funny thing he did today -- he really likes the canned noodles-n-sauce from Annie's (like Spaghetti-O's, but organic/all-natural) and one version of them comes in bunny shapes, so he calls it "bunny noodles." He was going to have them tonight for dinner, but we got distracted and he wound up having something else. Later, we were reading books and I pulled out Pat the Bunny which I had hidden for a while because I got sick of it. ;) We read through it once, and I put it down, and he said, "more bunny noodles?" All night he kept referring to the book as "bunny noodles" and I was just cracking up. I kept saying, "bunny book" and he was like "bunny noodles!" LOL!

OK, maybe you had to be there....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios