Feb. 28th, 2005

Isaac Vid

Feb. 28th, 2005 11:19 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I have a short video clip of Isaac on my website. It's from last July, so obviously he's pretty different in the video from now (he didn't even walk then and could barely crawl). Alas, I'm running low on disk space on my website so I'm going to take the clip down -- it's about 30MB. I just thought I'd give you a chance to go watch it, if you haven't (or watch it again, if you have), before I take it down. It's pretty funny, apparently, based on the comments I've gotten on it thus far. :)

Anyway, here's the link in case you want to check it out. I'll be deleting it tomorrow-ish.

In newer Isaac news, he is learning how to talk on the phone; when he hears gramma's voice come out of the phone he says "ride bus? tunnel?" because he totally associates gramma with riding the #1 Bus through the Harvard tunnel. Also Isaac will now bring me a book to read, and then when I go to sit down in a chair to read it, he'll follow me to the chair, hand me the book, and then turn around so that his back is to me, to make it easy for me to pull him up onto my lap. It's so funny. :)

He's also starting to repeat everything he hears, which can be really funny. Yesterday we were in the car discussing family medical issues, and gramma gave a deep sigh and "oy," and from the backseat we hear a little piping "Oy!" LOL! Also if you bend over to pick something up and give a grunt, or if you stretch and groan, or similar, Isaac will grunt/groan in imitation of you, which is hilarious. I can see it's time for me to start watching my language.... ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
Just to make life ever so much more entertaining, on Saturday I got a notice from my mortgage company saying that due to an escrow shortage (translation: the amount of taxes being charged to me as part of my mortgage payment isn't enough to pay the tax bill) they are increasing my monthly mortgage payments by $300, effective the first of next month. April Fool's! Only not a joke! AUGH.

Now, this should all become moot since this letter dates from before we discovered, as I wrote about here at some length, that I'm being charged for all the taxes on the entire building rather than just my half. Assuming that that gets straightened out, it seems pretty likely that whatever numbers this new piece of paper is trying to spew at me will be tossed out the window and replaced with some new, hopefully much more favorable to me, numbers. So I should really just put this piece of paper aside and not worry about it. So I'm doing exactly that, right? Well, sort of. Except that the mere notion of having to increase my monthly payments by $300 seems to have sent me into some sort of shock, where the looking-at-finances-logically part of my brain is now in a state of catatonia and won't respond to any application of actual reality.

Or, to put it somewhat less verbosely, that shit fucked me the hell up.

Anyway, so I called them today, mostly hoping they'd say "there there, don't worry about it, we're on it." Only what they actually said was that they called the county tax people on Feb 15th and haven't gotten a call back yet. I asked how long it'll take before they say "gee, maybe we should call again," and the guy wouldn't give me an answer, but assured me somewhat patronizingly that they were "actively" investigating the issue. Hmm, if it's been two weeks since you called and you haven't tried calling back yet, that doesn't sound too active to me, but what the hell do I know? So I expressed that if this doesn't get resolved by April 1st, which in fact is only a month away, then I'm going to mildly freak out, and he expressed that I should chill the hell out. There's plenty of time, says he, and it will all be resolved before April 1st, and if by strange chance it isn't, I can just pay the smaller payment on April 1st and they'll accept it because they'll know the investigation is ongoing. Well, we'll just see about that.

So this is me trying my best not to worry about it. I just hate not knowing what's going on -- I wish I could be more involved in the investigation process rather than just sitting here waiting for a call. sigh.

Happy freakin' Monday.

teh suck

Feb. 28th, 2005 10:01 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
Man, what a fucking disaster of an evening this was.

I'm not even going to summarize it, it sucked too much. The time has come to scrounge up whatever emergency chocolate I have stashed around here somewhere, scarf it, and get my ass to bed, because I am so done with this day. Fuck you very much, Monday. Go to hell.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios