Jan. 22nd, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Only a complete moron would let her oil tank run dry on the coldest day of the year, right?

Only a complete moron would be sitting around typing LJ entries as her fingers slowly turn to blocks of ice because it's 50F and falling in her apartment, right?

The oil company people can't come till the afternoon, so I guess we'll be going out and doing some emergency shopping. It's supposed to snow like two feet tonight. It's kind of sad when you go to the grocery store to warm up.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, the heat is back. The oil guy came around 3:30 while Isaac was napping, and filled the tank and left. Huh? Left? But he was supposed to come in and prime the furnace! I was very confused. A few minutes later a different guy came and primed the furnace. I guess they were tag-teaming so they could speed up the process of refilling everyone's tanks.

Anyway, it took a while for the apt to heat all the way back up -- the thermostat said 50(F) when the guy left, and I usually keep it around 66-68 during the day, and that took maybe an hour. But even just 15-20 minutes later when it was 55, I felt a lot better. It's amazing how much difference a few degrees can make.

We did go grocery shopping, but didn't make it to the pet food store, oops. I think we have enough catfood for tomorrow, and in a pinch we can stretch it till Monday. Bini will be pissed, but he's fat, so he can deal. I was actually contemplating rushing out to the pet store, but I was reluctant to give up my parking space -- they declared a snow emergency in my town as of 3pm, which means everyone who parks on the even side of the street would be out looking for a space (snow emergency means you can only park on the odd side; on my street the odd side is the only side with parking anyway so my normal spot is still legal). Anyway, I was still dithering about it when Isaac got up from his nap and was hungry, and by the time he was done eating it had started snowing, so that answered that.

It doesn't look like there's a *whole* lot of snow down yet, but it's hard to be sure, because it's very windy and everything's blowing around a ton. I took a picture of my backyard before it started snowing, so tomorrow I can complete the "before and after" set.

and now, to bed.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios