the good, the bad, and the wtf?
Jan. 10th, 2005 11:32 amThings that make me happy:
- I get next Monday off for MLK Day, and Isaac's daycare is open. AND, my mom doesn't work Mondays anyway so she can pick him up! w00t! This means that if I get us up and out at our usual time, I can be back home by 10 and have potentially up to eight hours to myself! YAY!!!
- Isaac sleeping through the night two nights in a row. I don't kid myself that it's a new pattern, but it was nice. Now if only I could keep myself from waking up at 4am and being unable to get back to sleep.
gosling and
ceo finally had their baby. Yay! Babies!- Mom gave me some pictures of Isaac to send to my great-aunt in Cleveland so I can cash her check without feeling guilty.
- I left my favorite black sweatpants at the clothing swap the other day, but they turned up, and
mattlistener emailed to say I can come retrieve them any time. Yay!
- The AIDS Action Committee sent me a letter to thank me for donating my old car -- this is the letter I need for the IRS -- and they addressed it to "John [mylastname]." This is EXTREMELY ridiculous when you consider that I signed up for the program by filling out a form online. I KNOW I didn't type in my name as "John," so they have totally no excuse for getting it wrong. :P
- My credit-card is AWOL. I haven't seen it since I used it to pay for my thyroid meds the other day. I hope it turns up, cuz that's not a headache that I need. Plus, this means I had to use my debit card to gas up the car this morning, so things are even tighter until Friday than they already were.
- RCN, after several months of not sending me marketing literature (which only took about six phone calls), has started sending it again. Four stupid annoying flyers in my box in the last two days. My rage and hatred are honed.
- This morning on the way in to work I saw a car with a bumper sticker that said simply, "Cash." Uh, what about it? It's a lovely thing...? (Hmm, upon further consideration, maybe it was a tribute to the late Johnny Cash?)
- The other day I was at CVS and they had their Valentine's Day displays up. OK, that's reasonable, it was the 6th, January was practically half over. But then in a corner of the store I saw a display with pastels and Cadbury Creme Eggs and Peeps. Yes, Easter candy. In January!! What is the world coming to? At this rate they'll be putting out the Halloween stuff as soon as Valentine's Day is over. Yeesh.