Sep. 22nd, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Damn, is gmail slow today! wtf ... it must be because they're giving out so damn many invites.

I feel dumb because I forgot that today's weather forecast was sunny and 80 (happy first day of fall!), so I put both myself and Isaac in long sleeves and pants. At least Isaac can have his pants taken off and still be accepted in polite society! ;) No such luck for me! At least I wore a lightweight shirt.

Speaking of the first day of fall, tonight my choir is participating in this, which I think is truly going to be one of the coolest things ever.
>As the sun sets on September 22, 2004, Revels and Charles River
>Conservancy will celebrate the first day of fall with an event on both
>banks of the Charles River ... this event will feature beacons
>on each shore that ultimately come together to form a bridge of light
>across the Charles.
>
>The major musical component of this event will be a piece written
>specifically for the occasion for massed voices singing back and forth
>across the river. Boston area choruses, choirs and individual singers
>are urged to join us en masse to help create a giant antiphonal vocal
>ensemble. ... A giant
>puppet will conduct the piece from the Weeks Bridge. We expect to
>assemble at least a thousand singers, 500 on each shore. Singing will
>begin at 6:41 (sunset), and the piece will be 15-30 minutes long.
Woo!! I am so looking forward to this. It's going to rule. :)

More later....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Activist Mama
You're an agitator! Your kids have grown up on the
front lines of rallies and pickets, and chances
are that you boycott at least one company for
its bad business practices. Your kids are
learning what matters to you and how they can
change what matters to them.

What kind of a freaky mother are you?
brought to you by Quizilla
Ya got that right, pal! :)

last night's baseball game )

So that was fun, and then I got home to Isaac fast asleep (my mom was babysitting) and he slept through the night for the first time in a few weeks, which of course was great. Yay.

I notice I haven't posted anything political in quite a while. That's probably because I'm feeling pretty discouraged. I feel like Bush is a shoo-in and it really upsets me -- not just because obviously I think that's going to be a horrible disaster for our country and the world, but also, because it didn't have to be that way. I had really hoped that Kerry would learn from Gore's mistakes in 2000 and not run such a wishy-washy, ineffective, wimpy campaign. But apparently that's what they've been doing and it just makes me alternately sad and angry. The Democrats DO stand for things, they DO have important issues that they feel passionately about -- and yet somehow they seem to feel like it's not okay to express that. Like they have to be all calm and cool-headed and noncommittal. What are we, Vulcans? Come fucking ON, people! Argh....

But anyway, I'm still planning to watch the debates, at least part of them. I sure hope my TiVo is functional by then, cuz no way am I watching that stuff without a fast-forward button available to me.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios