Aug. 24th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Because it was a strange weekend.

We went up to Vermont to visit some friends, which was mostly fun except for the one argument we got into that turned unexpectedly hostile. WTF? *scratch head* Meanwhile, Isaac was sick all weekend with that thing he had a few weeks back, where he gets a fever and these little red bumps all over his knees and feet. Only this time it spread all up his thighs and across his butt and onto his arms, and even a few bumps on his chest and tummy and face. It looked REALLY bad. But the weird thing is, by the time the bumps started looking bad, the fever was gone and he was seeming in a better mood. The bumps didn't seem to itch or bother him at all.

Anyway, by this morning he was quite cheery and seemed fever-free and the bumps looked better, so I took him to daycare as usual. (I called the doctor first just in case, but she concurred with me that since it was getting better already I might as well not worry too much.)

And then just as I was getting us ready to go, *I* started feeling ill. I got really nauseous and had that sort of bloated pre-diarrhea feeling in my tummy. I spent the entire commute trying not to burp, yawn, swallow, etc., and fretting that I would have to pull over to barf by the side of the road. Ugh! But I made it to daycare, and then to the office, without mishap. And I think I'm starting to feel a bit better. WTF? I still haven't had my morning bagel and cup of tea, even though I'm pretty sure I feel some twinges of hunger mixed in with the nausea. I really wish my body would decide what the hell it's doing already.

In other news, the friends we stayed with in Vermont grow catnip in their garden and gave me some to bring back. Needless to say it made Bini extremely happy. He spent much of last night startling every time I moved, then glaring at me as if he suspected I was going to try to take his catnip away. LOL.

I'm sure there's more, but whatever, I touched on the main points. *g*
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, this is take two of this post. The first version was too vitriolic and got my blood boiling so I'm trying again. sigh.

In my last post I wrote that Isaac has a rash and I spoke to his doctor about it and she didn't think she needed to see him, it sounded like the same virus he had a few weeks ago and wasn't a big problem. I told the daycare people this when I dropped him off and they said fine.

So then a couple hours later they call me back and say I have to come pick him up and take him to the doctor and get a note saying he's okay. ARGH.

Insert a whole fucking lot of ranting here. And yes, I know they have to protect the other children in their care and blah blah fucking blah. Don't even talk to me about it. I don't want to hear it.

So I called the doctor and they have an appointment at 4. The daycare says that isn't good enough. I have to come take him away NOW. If he is contagious, he's already infected everyone in the room anyway, so why not let him stay till 3? But noooooo. I have to give up my entire day for this now. Insert more ranting here.

If I didn't like the teachers so much I would really be thinking about finding another daycare right now. The teachers are mostly great, but the administrative staff, um, insert more ranting here. Sigh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, Isaac went to sleep super-fast tonight. We barely sat down in our rocking chair to nurse, and he was out like a light. He was SO tired. It's all those jerks at daycare's fault for making him miss his afternoon nap! (The doctor totally vindicated me btw. I have a note saying "this kid's mom was right all along, you heartless idiots" which I shall take to daycare tomorrow.)

In all the annoyance of the day I neglected to mention that I have a gmail account! Woohoo! I feel so cutting-edge. I'm leaning toward switching all, or at least some, of my high-volume email lists over to it. I think that would be cool. Or not. I can't decide.

Apparently there's a meme going around, "if I had had a child when I started in fandom..." If I had done that, that child would be hitting puberty about now. S/he would be around thirteen, which is what, eighth grade? Dude, that's some scary shit.

Now I have a headache from the stress of the day, the caffeine withdrawal (I skipped my morning caffeine due to the nausea), and who knows what else. I gotta get my ass to bed. Wah.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios