Dec. 3rd, 2002

blither

Dec. 3rd, 2002 11:19 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This is your last reminder to let me know if you want a postcard from Japan. I have addresses from [livejournal.com profile] azurelunatic, [livejournal.com profile] lovessong, and [livejournal.com profile] ladyvyola. Oh, and a request from [livejournal.com profile] taraljc, who should send me her addy in case I find the thing she wanted.

In other news, this picture fucking blows my mind. If you've never checked out NASA's Astronomy Picture of the Day site, you definitely should (http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod), and the previous link was for today's (Dec. 3) picture. I'm a closet astronomy geek (got a whole bunch of 8x10 reproductions of Hubble pix on my wall) and it's really just amazing the stuff they have on the NASA site. Seriously, check it out.

In TV news, I've gotta do some math and figure out what-all I need to record while I'm away and whether TiVo has enough room for it all. I think it should be okay. I'm a little annoyed that the TiVo doesn't yet have all the listings for while I'll be away -- currently it only goes through Saturday the 14th. I know that the first Tuesday I'm away both Buffy and Smallville are reruns (which means I can record "That 70s Show" instead, yay), but what about the second Tuesday? *checks tvguide.com* Hmm, it seems Buffy is new but SV is a rerun. Damn.

It seems I'll also have to record SNL on the 14th, as Al Gore will be hosting. That ought to be interesting.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've been brewing this musing/rant for a while and now it's time to let it out. Subject: why I don't like TWOP and [livejournal.com profile] fandom_wank -- or, more accurately, why I don't like what those forums' existence says about the state of fandom today.

cut for the benefit of those who don't give a crap )

And this is yet another on the lengthy list of Reasons Why Joan Is Not More Deeply Involved In Fandom.

Edited to Add: Interestingly enough, I now notice that the same "why we should love/hate fandom_wank" discussion has been going on all over the place recently, even in that community itself. You might not believe this, but my rant above was not actually prompted by that stuff, since I wasn't even aware of it when I wrote the above. What actually prompted my post here was reading Te's latest blogging about what our fic says about us and why she's drawn to certain people based on their fic.

dumb people

Dec. 3rd, 2002 04:52 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Argh! Why do so many people seem to be under the delusion that you can't edit a post you made in a community?? The procedure for editing a community post is EXACTLY the same as for editing a post in your own journal!!! I swear, the next time I see "oops, I messed up in that last post, oh well I can't go back and change it so I'll just repost the whole thing corrected" I'm going to injure someone.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios