Nov. 27th, 2002

today

Nov. 27th, 2002 12:11 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Between the 4-6 inches of snow that has already fallen around here, and tomorrow being a U.S. holiday, it's *extremely* quiet at the office today. I think there are about six of us here today. It's weird.

I might have stayed home myself, but I had a chiropractor appointment this morning so I figured, "if I'm going to get up and dig out my car and get on the roads anyway, I might as well go to work." Actually, the commute was not as bad as it could have been. The roads had mostly been plowed and there weren't a whole lot of cars. I figure it'll be a lot worse on the way home, as the people leaving early to beat the weather meet up with the people leaving early to go do holiday stuff plus the people arriving from elsewhere for the holiday. I'll probably try to leave around 3 or 4 while it's still light out and just expect the traffic to be terrible. By then it's supposed to have stopped snowing, at least.

Of course, like an idiot I didn't buy all the ingredients yet for the casserole I want to make for Thanksgiving dinner, so I'm going to have to brave the day-before-Thanksgiving grocery store crowds. Ugh. On second thought, maybe I can fake it. I'll check the recipe again.

As usual, I got home very late after chorus last night and didn't get to watch either Buffy or Smallville. We get Friday off, so maybe I'll get a chance to watch them then after the holiday/family stuff is done. By tradition, we usually have waffles together the morning after Thanksgiving, and then visiting relatives usually like to leave by noonish.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I just put my casserole in the oven (*fingers crossed*) so I have a minute or two... got this from [livejournal.com profile] catmoran...

1. If you could only have one holiday to celebrate, which one would you choose and why?

Tough one. I'd like to say July 4th if we could remove all the obnoxious patriotism from it. I like warm weather and it's the only real summery holiday; and I love the food we always have on July 4th (fire-roasted corn, strawberry shortcake *drool*), and the fireworks are fun. Nothing like celebrating your country's birth by setting stuff on fire! :)

I do also like Thanksgiving a lot, because it's the one time of year that I feel like I have a *big* family, and there's pie. Mm, pie.

2. As a child, which was your favorite holiday, and is it still your favorite?

Gotta be Christmas, on which we got gifts even though we're Jewish. Halloween would have been a close second.

3. Which holiday did you dread most, and is it still your least favorite?

As a kid? I don't think there were any that I dreaded as a kid. Holidays are just fun when you're little. Nowadays, I dread Capitalist Glorification of Couples Day Valentine's Day. I like to think that even if I were in a relationship I'd feel the same way. The blatant commercialization of romance really irks me. (It's also pretty damn het.)

4. Invent a holiday. Secular/religious, feasting/fasting, your choice.

I love the idea of Buy Nothing Day, which some anti-capitalists always try to promote on the day after Thanksgiving, which, IMO, is futile. It would be neat to pick one day that's *not* in the middle of prime buying season, and say, no retailers may be open for business, no Internet sales allowed, basically no money spent on *things* for an entire day. That would be interesting.

Alternatively, how about Glorification of Chocolate Day? (Yes, yes, I can hear you now, "every day is Glorification of Chocolate Day!" But wouldn't it be neat if it were official? And you got it off work? That would rule!) :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios