mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I just put my casserole in the oven (*fingers crossed*) so I have a minute or two... got this from [livejournal.com profile] catmoran...

1. If you could only have one holiday to celebrate, which one would you choose and why?

Tough one. I'd like to say July 4th if we could remove all the obnoxious patriotism from it. I like warm weather and it's the only real summery holiday; and I love the food we always have on July 4th (fire-roasted corn, strawberry shortcake *drool*), and the fireworks are fun. Nothing like celebrating your country's birth by setting stuff on fire! :)

I do also like Thanksgiving a lot, because it's the one time of year that I feel like I have a *big* family, and there's pie. Mm, pie.

2. As a child, which was your favorite holiday, and is it still your favorite?

Gotta be Christmas, on which we got gifts even though we're Jewish. Halloween would have been a close second.

3. Which holiday did you dread most, and is it still your least favorite?

As a kid? I don't think there were any that I dreaded as a kid. Holidays are just fun when you're little. Nowadays, I dread Capitalist Glorification of Couples Day Valentine's Day. I like to think that even if I were in a relationship I'd feel the same way. The blatant commercialization of romance really irks me. (It's also pretty damn het.)

4. Invent a holiday. Secular/religious, feasting/fasting, your choice.

I love the idea of Buy Nothing Day, which some anti-capitalists always try to promote on the day after Thanksgiving, which, IMO, is futile. It would be neat to pick one day that's *not* in the middle of prime buying season, and say, no retailers may be open for business, no Internet sales allowed, basically no money spent on *things* for an entire day. That would be interesting.

Alternatively, how about Glorification of Chocolate Day? (Yes, yes, I can hear you now, "every day is Glorification of Chocolate Day!" But wouldn't it be neat if it were official? And you got it off work? That would rule!) :)

Date: 2002-11-27 05:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ide-cyan.livejournal.com
how about Glorification of Chocolate Day?

I thought that was Easter. And Capitalist Glorification of Couples Day. And Hallowe'en.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios