Oct. 18th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
1. How many TVs do you have in your home?

One, but also two VCRs, a TiVo, and a DVD player.

2. On average, how much TV do you watch in a week?

Way too much. But hard to say, because I usually have it on when I'm using the puter, and that doesn't necessarily count as watching. At least a few hours per day, though. *sigh*

3. Do you feel that television is bad for young children?

Only if they watch it as a substitute for other things, e.g. reading, spending time with friends, getting attention from parents. Like so many other things with kids, it depends on how you handle it.

4. What TV shows do you absolutely HAVE to watch, and if you miss them, you're heartbroken?

Buffy. Farscape. Maybe Angel. Probably Smallville.

5. If you had the power to create your own television network, what would your line-up look like?

It would be heavy on sci-fi, with lots of queer characters. But it would also have some silly fun sitcoms and "cute kid/cute pet videos" shows. (Only not with Bob Saget or the ultra-annoying guy who does the "Planet's Funniest Videos" on Animal Planet.) Also, lots of baseball, but it would pretend that no other sports existed. And instead of commercials, there would be a ten- (approximately) minute block at the end of each hour of programming for breaking news and updates, so that no one would have to miss part of their favorite show because it got preempted by breaking news about some stupid celebrity's car chase or murder trial. (OK, so I'm still bitter about the OJ thing, so sue me.)

go fish

Oct. 18th, 2002 02:30 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I'm thinking of posting Promise Again to the SSA. I don't like posting stuff unbeta'd, but it *is* just a teeny PWP, so maybe it would be okay...?

I'm still trying to find a beta for my other story. There are a lot of great resources for finding betas in various fandoms, but I haven't found any listings specifically for beta-readers who will do crossovers. Someone stop me from creating a website listing of same. Really. Stop me now. (But while you're at it, find me a Buffy/Angel/Smallville xover beta. Mwah!)

I am so shallow this week. I don't know why. Maybe it's the utter lack of sleep. And the lots and lots of work.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Because I feel more than vaguely embarrassed about how shallow my posts have been this week.

On Autumn: I don't like autumn. I don't hate it the way I hate, say, winter, but it's definitely my second-most-hated season. I love summer. I know I'm in a very small minority, but I like hot weather. I like spring too, because it's pretty and full of hope and promise for summer.

Things to hate about autumn:

1. Allergies. Every year, reliably on Sept. 1st (give or take a few days), it's like a switch is flipped in my sinuses, heralding a five- or six-month period of sneezing, sniffling, and itchy eyes. I wake up mornings and the itch starts at the back of my nose and just won't go away. Sure, antihistamines help a bit, but I don't like to put too many chemicals in my body, so I don't take allergy drugs except for once in a while when it gets REALLY bad.

2. Cold weather. Okay, winter's worse, but in autumn you also get these torturous nice-warm-sunny days here and there, teasing and mocking you. Mostly it's all cold and you have to haul out your warm clothes that you look frumpy and dumpy in, and sniffle (and sneeze) sadly as you put away the summer clothes that you actually think you look good in.

3. End of the baseball season. Wah!

4. Seasonal affective disorder. I haven't actually been diagnosed, but the darker skies and the cold do affect my mood.

5. Speaking of which: the sky being completely dark when I leave work.

6. Rain. I don't mind rain if it's warm, but cold and rainy and dark are just awful. I also have a hard time seeing (and thus driving) when it's dark and rainy. I don't know what you call it, but I have some eye problem that makes driving in the dark rain really unpleasant.

7. Having to keep all the windows closed (because it's cold) thus turning Bini into a stir-crazy whirling dervish. He can sit by a closed window and scratch (yes, on the glass) for hours, whining. Ugh.

8. Having to pay heating bills. If we go to war, my oil bills are going to be even more unpleasant than last year.

Just so you don't think I'm incapable of seeing the good, here are Things To Like About Fall:

1. Pretty, crisp days when the air is so clear it's like the whole world has just been washed.

2. Changing foliage, making each morning's commute a little more interesting because it's slightly different each day.

3. Fall food -- apples, squashes, artichokes, corn. Warm comfort-foods like soup and Cream of Wheat. Thanksgiving and all the many yummy foods that go with it (yes, even a vegetarian can enjoy Thanksgiving).

4. Start of the new TV season.

5. Halloween. I like giving out candy to the kids, and of course there's all the cheap chocolate on sale immediately after.

But still, the bads far outweigh the goods. And thus my dislike of autumn. Sigh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios