Sep. 30th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I so hate this. I have got to get me a real, functional computer for home.

So yesterday I finish the transcript of Buffy "Two to Go." I try to download one of my older transcripts off Psyche so I can snag the HTML from it. But when I do "save as" from Netscape on my Mac, it doesn't save the HTML code for some reason. I just get the formatted text. Okay, so I try "view source." Netscape tries to open the source in SimpleText but it complains that the file is too big, so no dice. I should mention that there were several crashes mixed in there. My Mac, with its nice little G3 accelerator card, crashes a lot. Sigh. (I speculate that it's because there isn't much disk space left. It only has one gig... sigh.)

So after several rounds of rebooting, trying again to download off Psyche, crashing and rebooting again, etc., finally I decide, okay, I give up, I'll just slap the transcript text up on my temp FTP directory, grab it when I get in to work, and do the HTMLing from there. So of course my FTP program crashes a few times, but *finally* I get it to run and upload the thing, in both text and Word-doc format.

So today, I FTP the files down and try to get it done. But the text version is incomplete -- it stops halfway through a sentence, about 90% of the way through the episode -- and the doc version refuses to open. Word complains that "the filename or path is invalid," which is obviously false since I'm double-clicking the damn thing. I'm trying to open it in WordPad, but it has now been sitting there for about fifteen minutes with a little hourglass -- not crashed to "not responding" yet, but sure as shit not opening the document either.

I fucking hate Microsoft.

So now the transcript's not going to be up till tomorrow, obviously. I'll have to try to email myself the HTML code, and then hope the damn Mac will stay up long enough to code the new transcript tonight. Argh!!!

I would love to get a brand new spiffy Mac, but given my current state of finances, I'll probably have to go for a Windoze machine simply because it's cheaper. Now if only I could find somewhere to get one with Win98. Or W2K. I just don't want WinXP, dammit.

Fuck you, Bill Gates. Fuck you to hell and back.

I hate Mondays too.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
If it's Monday, it must be my "what I did this weekend" post....

Saturday: Slept late for the first time in what seemed like forever. Rode my bike around a little. Hit the Ames going-out-of-business sale, was very surprised by how much stuff they still had left. Bought a bunch of stuff that I did and didn't need. Went grocery shopping for cookie ingredients. Went home, watched baseball game, made cookies.

Sunday: Slept late for the second time in what seemed like forever. Went over to mom's and did laundry, snuggled kitties. Took laundry home, made the bed with nice clean sheets (bliss!), finished "Two To Go" transcript (see previous post), watched the first two episodes of "John Doe." Put on artichokes to cook for dinner; realized it was 11pm; let them cook anyway. Got to bed very late.

blather about the cookie baking )

Bini found the whole baking process very interesting. I realized that he's never seen me bake, since I lost my old mixer before I got him. He tried several times to stick his nose in the bowl of batter. I keep explaining that "kitties don't like chocolate-chip cookies," but he doesn't seem to believe me. Bini, by the way, really likes this weather. I always say that I know it's fall because every time I sit or lie down, he's there immediately, snuggling up. He snuggles a fair amount in summer, but even more so when the weather starts getting chilly. He also really likes mornings when I sleep late, or days when I sit around on the sofa pretty much all day. I spent a ton of extra time on the sofa because I kept not wanting to disturb him, so cozy curled up on my lap. Awww.

I really liked "John Doe." I hate to say it, but it has grabbed me even harder than "Firefly." Not that I'm giving up on "Firefly" or anything, far from it. (I don't get the people who say the slash potential is all about Simon/Mal. To me it seems obvious that it's Jayne/Mal. And of course the chicks. I mean, Simon/Mal or Simon/Jayne would be okay too, but it doesn't seem as *obvious.*) I also watched MadTV, which I think was their season premiere. I loved the part where they send two of their castmembers to the red carpet at the Emmys. :)

Oh, and I went to Bread & Circus and got more multivitamins. I couldn't find the one I've been taking so I got a similar one, only it didn't have any iron, so I also got a separate iron supplement. Now I have *four* supplements to take each night before bed. Whee.

That's about it, I guess. A fairly slow, boring weekend. I needed that kind of thing right now.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios