Jun. 24th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I seem to not post much on weekends, and then on Monday I have lots of catch-up posting to do. Ah well, here goes.

(I know I had an interesting dream last night and woke up going "must post on lj" but now I can't remember it! argh!)

Friday night I slept at mom's place to keep her kitties company. They were thrilled, poor little lonely guys. At a few minutes before 6am on Saturday, Mr. Softie showed his delight by patting my face with his paws. Repeatedly. And when I pulled the sheet over my head, he tugged it down and resumed the face-patting. So I got up, fed him, and went back to sleep. Around 11:30 or noon he just started walking back and forth across my body, pausing occasionally to purr loudly in my ear. Okay, okay! I'm up!

So I got up, puttered around, did laundry, hauled my bike out of mom's basement, took it over to the bike shop nearby and bought a helmet. The chick at the bike place added more air to my tires (guess I was afraid to inflate them enough) and said that my brakes suck (which I knew) and should be fixed asap. So I said, "how long would that take?" thinking like, a couple hours, and she said, "We could have it by Thursday." So I said forget it, put on my spiffy new helmet and rode home. (I don't really think the brakes are that unsafe -- if I only ride around my neighborhood and such. They do stop the bike, eventually. I'll probably take it to a shop closer to home and get them fixed.)

Then I did more laundry, and eventually loaded the bike and all the laundry and other random stuff into my mom's station wagon and drove home. Unexpectedly, the gamers next door canceled their RPG, but were still hanging out, so I went and hung out with them, and we played Chez Geek, because we always play Chez Geek. (Also Boggle.)

Sunday, I took mom's car back to her place, went shopping in almost-vain for the stuff I badly needed (clothes hangers: check; bowls: check; mop: no such luck), retrieved my car and brought it home. Watched the Sox get their asses kicked, cleaned out the car (long overdue!), did some cleaning in the apartment, watched the Cards-Cubs game just because I'm still sad about the death of Darryl Kile, did more cleaning. Brother called to give the update (he got the job; he got my check; he'll probably have a car quite soon). More cleaning, took out the trash, went to bed.

Oh, I also shaved my legs -- sorry, [livejournal.com profile] pearl_o! I just got the urge, is all. I love how hairy legs feel. I also love how freshly shaved legs feel. Plus, maybe it'll help with the swimming.

The apartment looks a lot better for the cleaning I've done, but it seems like no matter how much time I spend cleaning, it still needs more. Argh! When will it be finished?? Sigh. I suck at cleaning. At least there's a bit more space now, since I've taken a bunch of stuff down to the basement.

I'm so annoyed that I can't recall that dream. I'm going to go ponder it. Or maybe just pound on my skull till it comes back to me. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Of course it all came back to me just as I hit "update" on the last post.

I dream of Worldcon )

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios