Jun. 21st, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Things I learned today in my first time swimming at the new gym:

1. One should remove one's glasses before taking the obligatory pre-swim shower.

2. Swimming is aerobic. (I knew this.) Swimming is VERY aerobic. Swimming is EXERCISE! It makes you breathe hard and your muscles hurt! Duh, that's why you're doing it, right?

3. Just because one is swimming in water, which is all nice and warm and cushiony and stuff, doesn't mean it's no longer a good idea to stretch first.

4. A little carb-loading before exercise is good. A lot of carb-loading before exercise would be better.

5. One should really bring a comb. You know, to tame one's damp hair afterward.

6. A power-bar would also be good to have along. For the drive home, and all. (It's a whole seven minutes' drive from the gym to my place. At least, it's seven minutes at 8pm.)

7. One should towel off one's dripping wet hair before putting one's glasses back on.

8. I need goggles. And probably ear-plugs, because I get earaches. A bathing cap is optional.

I certainly enjoyed the swimming. Normally I think I will be doing the weight machines first and then swimming, but tonight I was running pretty late (because of lawyer chick) and plus it was my first time working out in months, so I decided to "go easy" on myself by just swimming. I felt kind of lame that I could only manage ten minutes of swimming before I was worn out, but I have to remind myself that not only has it been a while, but also, swimming is higher-impact than the aerobic/cardio stuff I was doing (i.e. stationary biking). So I have to give myself a break and ease into it. Anyway, I think it'll work out, this whole gym thing. Yay.

time-sink

Jun. 21st, 2002 11:31 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I re-read my mom's email from just before she went on her business trip, and discovered that she's getting back on Monday. I don't know why I had it in my head that she was returning on Saturday (tomorrow). That makes me twitchy, because it's a whole 'nother two days without telling her every little thing that happens in my life. *g* I actually tried to call her hotel last night, but they said they didn't have her as a guest. Later I figured out that was because she hadn't arrived there from L.A. yet. I left a message at her coworker's room, asking coworker to have mom call me. Then I felt a little silly.

So tonight I think I'm going to go sleep at mom's place to keep her kitties company. I'll stop home after work to feed and pet Bini, grab some stuff, and go over to mom's for baseball and Farscape. The kitties will be thrilled. And I can see about my bike at last, perhaps, if I'm feeling motivated.

I am so over the RPF debate. I just want it to go away. I'm still boggled that intelligent, otherwise reasonable people don't understand why RPF is so wrong, but more, I'm boggled that so few people seem able to grasp the simple concept of "I don't like it, but I still think it should be permitted." Also, people need to be content with that, and not feel the need to *keep* arguing in hopes of convincing others that they're Right(tm). It's getting a little ridiculous.

But once the old passive-aggressive "threaten to unsub" technique appeared, I knew it was over, for me at least. I *SO* don't play that, children. I said my piece, I voted in the poll, and that's that. I'm done.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios