mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I dreamt that a bunch of slashers were having a get-together/sleepover/party thing at my mom's place. I was wandering around trying to connect with them but they kept eluding me. I had heard that [livejournal.com profile] thete1 was there, and was trying to find her but couldn't. Oddly, I kept bumping into [livejournal.com profile] bexless, whom I don't even know except from seeing her(?) name on other people's LJs! Oh, and [livejournal.com profile] ladyvyola was also there.

So I was wandering around trying to get the slashers to socialize with me, but they were ignoring me. One of them was wheelchair-bound and the others were very carefully maneuvering her out of her car and into the house. They were all down in the downstairs room of my mom's place (which used to be my bedroom when I was a teenager) and I was standing by the top of the stairs trying to get them to let me come down. Then I looked out the window and saw a truck pulling out of the driveway carrying my friend Brian. I tried to call to him but it was too late. I pulled out my cell-phone and called Brian's cell-phone but got his voicemail.

I chased the slashers around a bit more, and then I saw the truck returning. I went out into the driveway to check it out, but instead of Brian, it now carried my brother. He got off the truck and started unloading many trays of muffins and cookies. I said hi to him but he ignored me. Finally he said a surly "hey" and went up the stairs to the house and rang the bell. I followed him and bitched at him for being snarky. He muttered something about how it was all Steve's fault. I told him there was no call to be rude to me because he was mad at some guy named Steve.

Then I let myself in with my key, but my brother didn't follow me. He stayed on the steps and I knew he was waiting for his gf, [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd. I knew she was downstairs with the slashers, so I went partway down the stairs and called out her name, except that in the dream her name was Lauren, which it isn't in RL. So I called, "Lauren!" and one of the slashers, who was standing there changing her clothes, was all, "I don't know any Lauren." She was a New Zealander slasher, and she started muttering stuff about how she was just like a Friend (from the show "Friends"). I told her not to put herself down that way. ;) She was all, "But I'm blonde and pretty and from New Zealand."

Anyway, Lauren didn't appear, so I went back upstairs to tell my brother that she wasn't there. But now there was a big crowd of people from my chorus standing on the front steps trying to get in. They were all trying to find different people whom they thought were inside. I realized it was my job to go downstairs and find the people and bring them back up, one by one. So I started asking each chorus person who s/he was looking for, and trying to keep the list in my head. It was chaotic because no one would listen to me or wait their turn, and everyone was trying to push past me to get inside.

And that's about all I remember.

I also remember a snippet of dream where I had written the first chapter or so of a novel and was trying to decide whether to have some people read it, or write more first. And I kept thinking "But it's not obvious yet that this is going to be science fiction, so I shouldn't let anyone read it yet."

Date: 2003-03-13 12:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
Hey, everybody! Party at the pregnant lady's house! Dibs on any chocolate she's got stashed away!

Date: 2003-03-13 07:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Oh, yeah. Take chocolate from a pregnant chick. That sounds like a good idea. You know, if you have a DEATH WISH!!!! ;)

Date: 2003-03-14 09:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
Yeah, but I got real nimble escaping from my sister-in-law.

On the other hand, I brought her two Flake bars from our local honest-to-god British tearoom last Saturday so she's coming out ahead in my book.

Date: 2003-03-13 05:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thete1.livejournal.com
Hee! I'm *wily*...

Date: 2003-03-13 10:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sandykidd.livejournal.com
LAUREN?! LOL! that's a laugh and a half! you prolly don't know that my nickname is 'K.' yep, just K. and i've been called lots of other things, but never lauren. not even in dreams, that i'm aware of. speaking of dreams, my mom and i occasionally dream the same dream (the one in which one of us tries to break up a street fight and then gets thrown through a shop window for interfering), but what's really freaky is that we only dream it at the same time.

btw, i don't know who 'steve' is, but i'm sure your bro will gladly kick his butt if he gives you any more trouble. he misses you, you know--your brother, not that jerk, steve--and he wishes he could be there for your birthday. of course, i'm kinda miffed that you STILL haven't told me what you want me to draw for your present, and now it's too late for me to mail it to you and have it get there on time, so *raspberries!*. -sk

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios