mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Misc #1: Today I wore my new maternity jeans. It was weird but cool. Weird, because the denim is snug around the butt and thighs, but the stretchy panel is, well, stretchy across the tummy, so I spent the whole day feeling like I had accidentally left my fly open. ;) Cool, because I was wearing jeans again! Yay!

Misc #2: In all the cat-rescuing excitement I didn't get around to mentioning that when I stopped at Target the other day and tried to look for lightbulbs, I got sidetracked into the baby-clothes section. Did I just hear you say "uh-oh"? ;) Nah, I was good. I only bought one cute little outfit. It has all fishies and turtles on! It's so cute! :) Later, when my mom was pulling random crap out of her closet trying to figure out how Nomar got into the floorboards, she found a bag containing some baby clothes that, presumably, she bought many years ago as a gift for a friend and then never got around to giving the friend. So she gave it to me, so now I have *two* cute little outfits, plus a pair of cute little socks. :) Baby clothes are so CUTE!!! Augh! :)

Misc #3: several recent dreams...

Dream #1 involved my friend Stacy whom I haven't seen in years. I can't really remember much of it except that we were walking down a long corridor pulling wheelie suitcases. A metaphor for emotional baggage, perhaps? Obvious much?

Dream #2: I gave birth to a baby girl in my mom's living room. There was a man attending, probably a doctor. It wasn't a normal vaginal birth, so somehow the baby came out all clean and dry. I was confused because she wasn't all bloody and wet and icky. I cuddled the baby and found that her elbows and knees had very dry skin. I asked the doctor about it and he said it would go away when I started breastfeeding. So I tried to get the baby to nurse, but she could talk, and she kept saying she didn't want to. I finally got her nursing, but she was distracted by a hockey game on TV. She kept complaining that she wanted to watch the hockey. I was like, "just one more minute." Finally I gave up and put her down on the couch to watch the hockey. Then I went into my mom's bedroom to snuggle her kitties. I think this dream means I'm worried that I'll have a kid who'll be into stuff that I'm not into.

Dream #3 had me getting ready for a peace rally with my friend Jessie and a bunch of other people. Everyone was standing in a circle, amid a stand of tall trees, practicing their chants. I was trying to compose a poem/chant to write on my sign, sort of a cross between a chant and a prayer/invocation, along the lines of "Let our feet not get too sore, let our throats not get too hoarse, let our crowd of protesters be large." I had gotten a couple of good opening lines and a good ending line, and was trying to fill in the middle few lines, but Jessie kept interrupting to make fun of me. I think this dream segued into the Stacy dream, or possibly vice versa.

Dream #4 combined "Buffy" and "Smallville." Some stuff happened that I don't remember, and then I came out of a dark dingy place into a sunshiny place. Buffy and all the potential slayers were sitting/lying/lounging around on the concrete, enjoying the sun. I went over to Buffy and started trying to talk to her about some big problem (apparently I was a full-blown slayer too, maybe I was Faith? whee!), but she was all, "let's talk about it later, we're enjoying the sun." So I sat down to enjoy the sun too. Then one of the potentials started to read a story and all the others were excited. The story started out with one of those overblown purple-prose metaphors, only instead of "It was a dark and stormy night, like the sea" it was "The situation was very suspicious indeed, much like Michael Rosenbaum leaving the studio." This was funny to everyone because apparently MR (in the dream) was well-known for stealing props from the set, and it was a running joke. I was lying on the ground and Buffy was sitting up next to me and MR/Lex was on her other side lying down. I looked past Buffy's back and said to MR, "You've got a rep!" And he was laughing like it was very funny. Then the potentials started giving Lex crap because LutherCorp was making video arcade games that were lame. And he was all, "well, everyone else [other companies] was doing it [making video games]," implying that it was all Lionel's fault and that he only got into it because it was a fad. Weird enough for ya? :)

Misc #4: Tomorrow we have our first chorus rehearsal of the spring, for real -- last week's having been canceled due to snow. I'm not really looking forward to it, but I suppose I have to go. Ah well, at least then we have nothing for another month. (Isn't that weird?)

Misc #5: Just watched the new sitcom based on the movie "My Big Fat Greek Wedding." It was ehh. I'll tune in again, because, you know, you can't judge a show by its first episode.

Misc #6: Ha, thought you could fool me, didja? Everyone knows there is no rule number six!

Man, I am so punchy. I gotta get my ass to bed. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios